You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Much Does That English Muffin Breakfast Sandwich Really Cost?

in #food5 years ago

Great analysis! Every time I came up with a "yeah, but..." you had it included in your analysis. I shouldn't have doubted you. Yeah, the truth is that it can be expensive. Those fixed costs can really add up, and when you factor in waste from unsold items, it can be tough to stay competitive.

I think there was an episode of "How I Met Your Mother" where they open a bar in their apartment because they thought they could save money over drinking at the bar. They quickly found out that it's not as simple as it would seem.

Sort:  

re: yeah but

Yeah. I couldn't help myself. When I was first thinking about doing this, I was just going to do the ingredients, but then my business nature kicked in and I had to keep going. I decided it needed to be more than just about the sandwich itself, and so you got all the rest of it.

I don't know if people think about all of the possible expenses or not. Those of us who have ran businesses find out real quick that there's more to it than what you see on the surface.

And the unsold products is a big problem, and a major factor in the prices of things. If we could all be assured of how much we would sell, that would be great. I think it's actually possible, but it will take a wholesale change in the way businesses do, well, business for it to ever happen. :)

there's more to it than what you see on the surface.

Ain't that the truth?!

It would be difficult to predict exactly how much product you would go through. I think there's always going to be a certain amount of waste, unfortunately. It would be cool if you could come up with a plan to reduce waste though. I'll bet there are some companies that would pay big money for a plan like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62120.17
ETH 3179.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75