Pizza Night!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5337.JPG

Lately I've been making bread from scratch. It's not something I'm really accustomed to doing, especially since I've been gluten free off and on over the years trying to solve my tummy troubles. I haven't really eliminated gluten as the culprit yet but with TONS of probiotics I don't suffer much.

IMG_5330.JPG

Anyway, last night (and for the 4th time in about 3 weeks) I made pizza! It's such a simple and healthy food when you do it properly and the kids go crazy for it!

IMG_5335.JPG

For my dough I use a packet of yeast, one teaspoon of sugar, with one cup of warm water, mix it and let it sit for a few minutes. Then I add in a teaspoon of salt and two cups of organic wheat flour. I mix it well and form a dough then add a little oil and let it sit in a bowl with a towel on it for a half hour or so.

I make sure all my wheat is organic because of the heavy pesticides in regular wheat. There's a saying about wheat, 'it's not the gluten it's the glyphosate' and I thing that's very true for some people! Glyphosate is the main ingredient in RoundUp and was originally patented as an antibiotic. In many northern areas farmers use it as a dessicant, spraying very shortly before harvest to make it easier to cut.

IMG_5331.JPG

I digress, this is a post about yummy, happy pizza! I'm not picky about sauces, whatever tomato sauce I have on hand I use, then use up the rest in another dish later on. For this pizza I had red pepper, tomatoes, mushrooms, smoked tempeh that I fried up beforehand and I topped it with Dayia cheese.

IMG_5332.JPG

They turned out delicious! That bread recipe is really simple and you could totally use it for bread sticks or whatever you like :)

Thanks for reading!!

Sort:  

Good job! Thanks to @phoenixwren you have planted 0.13 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14274.67. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Have you ever been tested for food allergies? Years before I was, I got diagnosed with IBS, which I hate as a diagnosis, because it's basically saying, "Yep, you have digestion issues, but we don't know why!" Like, that doesn't do me much good, hey? Anyway, after getting rhe allergy tests done and following an allergy diet, 90% of my "IBS" symptoms are gone.
Also, a side note: technically wheat (wheat itaelf, not gluten specifically) is an allergen for me, and I notice it if I eat whole wheat (I rash), but I can get away with einkorn all purpose flour, which is available here at Vitamin Cottage, if y'all have one. Einkorn is what we think of when we think "wheat" - taller than a human, the wheat our grandparents ate. Most modern American wheat is 18" high and has extra gluten in it (no kidding!). The Einkorn I buy is imported from Italy. It might be worth a try? The brand is Jovial.
And finally, OM NOM NOM that pizza looks delicious! 😋

Interesting! I've never heard of that stuff, I'll keep an eye out for it though!
IBS is such a nonsense diagnosis! It's more like a symptom than a diagnosis, like arthritis and gallbladder attacks.
I did get tested though, no food allergies, I do have auto immune issues though which I'm starting to suspect is the problem since I feel fine when I'm pregnant and when you're pregnant your body shuts down part of the immune system so your body doesn't reject the baby. So that's my new line of research LoL

Yummy delicious pizza
I will also make this

Yummy looks very tasty, II ned to start making my own breads. I got into making chappti for a while must buy some bread making goodies and get on it :) Ahhw I hungry now :)

It's always seems so daunting to me but it's really not! I'm getting the hang of it! :)

yep I need to look into it :)

Home-made pizza is the best!

Yes! It was so delicious! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83