Healthy Chocolate Slice

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Baking sweets is not one of my cooking strengths. I mean, I have failed making cupcakes from a supermarket cupcake mix following strictly the instructions on the box. How I've managed to do this is simply a mystery to me. Especially considering I use my oven almost daily for all kind of meals, roasts and pastries. I suppose one of the reasons for my mostly unsuccessful baking attempts is that I don't have much of a sweet tooth and so I've never put too much effort into this.

While I'm working on my baking skills though, I still like having something sweet in the pantry or fridge for emergency cravings, last minute deserts or simply a snack every once in a while.

That's why this chocolate slice is of my favorites. It's easy and quick to make, no baking is required, and it can be stored in the fridge or freezer for later in the week. It should take you only about 20 minutes to make around 16 pieces.

20190507_182824.jpg

Time: 20 min (+fridge set) | Servings: 16 slices

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sultanas
  • 4 weetbix
  • 4 tbsp cocoa or cacao
  • 2 tbsp natural crunchy peanut butter
  • 6 tbsp desiccated coconut
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp honey (or alternative)
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 100 gr dark cooking chocolate (optional)
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Put all ingredients except the optional ones in a food processor and blend until smooth.
  2. Line a pan (such as a loaf tin) with baking paper.
  3. Press the mix into the pan
  4. Boil some water in a sauce pan, put a metal mixing bowl on top and add the chocolate and coconut oil. Mix slowly until melted (optional).
  5. Top the mix in the load tin with the melted chocolate (optional).
  6. Leave to set in the fridge
  7. Once set, slice into approximately 16 pieces

Hope you enjoy this little indulgence!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65860.84
ETH 3017.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70