THE BEST CHICKEN BACON RANCH CASSEROLE

in #food6 years ago

image.png

image.png

CHICKEN BACON RANCH INGREDIENTS
2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast– This is about 3-4 chicken breasts. You can also use chicken tenderloins if you want, however the cooking time will be reduced.
8 oz cream cheese- I use classic Philadelphia Cream Cheese, however you can also use low fat or neufchatel cheese.
1/2 cup sour cream- You can use regular or light. Greek yogurt can also be subbed here.
2 tbsp dry ranch mix- I usually use Hidden Valley packets, but I also have a homemade ranch mix you can try if you prefer
3 green onions, chopped (optional)- I always like to add these for some fresh flavor, but you can leave them out if you have sensitivities to onions
1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded- Cheddar is my favorite, but you can also use colby jack or mexican blend.
1/2 cup crumbled bacon (pre-cooked)- The best way to do this in my opinion is to make bacon in the oven until crispy and then crumble it up for the topping. You can make a big batch and use what you need, then keep the rest in a baggie in the freezer for the next meal. You can store it that way for up to a month.

CHICKEN BACON RANCH INSTRUCTIONS FAQ’S
Can I use chicken thighs, chicken tenderloins, or other cuts of chicken?

Yes! As long as it is boneless and skinless it will work well for this casserole. I actually often cut my chicken into thinner cutlets, or into chunks to make it cook more quickly when I make this. It also makes serving easier when you have smaller pieces.

How long do I bake the chicken?

For the recipe as written I bake the chicken at 375˚F for 35-45 minutes. The time may vary based on how thick your chicken is, how big the pieces are, and how your oven cooks. The best thing to do is to use a simple meat thermometer and watch for it to reach 165˚F.

Do I bake the chicken covered or uncovered?

I don’t cover my chicken when it bakes. With that said, every oven bakes differently based on size, type of heat, power, and the climate you live in. I would recommend that you keep an eye on it the first time you make it so that if it starts to get more browned than you want you can loosely cover it with a piece of foil.

Can I make this gluten free?

You can use my homemade ranch mix to make it gluten free. Also make sure that the bacon that you choose is gluten free.

Is this recipe keto friendly?

This recipe is naturally low carb. There are about 4g of carbohydrates per serving. By pairing it with some of the low carb sides listed above it can be a very keto friendly meal.

Can I use fat-free cream cheese, cheddar cheese, or sour cream?

You can use light substitutions on any of these but I do recommend against using fat free cheeses because they do not melt the same way that regular cheese melts and you won’t have a great result if you use them.

Source: https://easyfamilyrecipes.com/chicken-bacon-ranch-casserole/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68