Bizarre Foods - Escamol aka Ant Egg Tacos...Would you try it?

in #food6 years ago

What are we eating?!

Ant eggs tacos...

@halcyondaze with the stare I bet you're giving your computer screen right now...

escamol2.jpg

After a few hours traveling to see the Pyramid of the Sun in Teotihuacán, our tour guide Rodolfo took us to a hidden gem called La Gruta. It's a tiny cave restaurant where they specialize in prehistoric Mexican cuisine...aka bug dishes.

escamol0.jpg

It was pretty hot outside and we both forgot to put sunscreen on, so the cave provided a perfect relief from the sun.

escamol4.jpg

Rodolfo was an awesome tour guide and even bought us a few tequila shots in gratitude. Well...maybe more like tequila coconut cups full...but who's keeping track?

escamol5.jpg

I just had to share the escamol making experience with all of you!

Yeah, I was that guy who stood standing there in the middle of the restaurant looking like a tourist...

For the love of Steemit!

Rodolfo said the ant eggs taste like grass. I could see what he means, but it's subtle. The guacamole covered up most of the flavor for me, but the texture still came through. It's a bit like large juicy pieces of rice.

Would I eat it again?

YES!

As long as there is plenty of tequila ;P.

escamol1.jpg

Back when I used to live with Kev, we always joked about making a TV show called Embrace the Race, where we'd travel the world trying all the craziest foods from each culture.

This was before Bizarre Foods came out.

Maybe we should still do it. What do you think?


Thanks for following along!

If we haven’t met yet, please leave me a comment so we can!

By the way, I’m Jon. Most of my time is spent on my AI company and meeting new people on Steemit. I have lots of hobbies like traveling, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, gardening, cooking, reading and crypto - which I plan to share here. If any of these topics interest you, please let me know so we can chat more!

Cheers,

JONCIRCLE.png

Jon
Follow me: @ucsdsu

P.S. Would you try escamol?

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 07:28:15
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

you are more than welcome :-) i like to read and see posts meaning all the best in this beautifull platform.

Wait.... are there actually ants in the tacos? I'm confused lol.

It's actually the ant's eggs that are harvested and cooked then put inside a tortilla. There is a huge trend in Mexico to go back to the food popular before the Spanish influence. Cricket salt with mezcal is a must try!

If you had to describe what it tastes like by comparing it to a common food eaten around the world. What would that be? I can't say I've ever eaten anything like that before.

I'd say a mix between rice, pasta, and wheat grass... Pretty unique.

I definitely missed out on this restaurant when visiting the caves. Always a perk when the locals take you to the real hidden gems! YUM!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61905.09
ETH 2902.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55