Learn How to Make Conchas from a Local (Traditional Mexican Sweet Bread)

in #food6 years ago


I never liked Mexican sweet bread...

Until I made it myself yesterday in Mexico City.

On a whim, @halcyondaze and I used miles to get out of the country for awhile to clear our heads.

While researching things to do, a conchas baking class on Airbnb Experiences popped up...

We had to do it!

Conchas are Mexican sweet bread where the base is normal bread but it's topped with a chocolate or vanilla cookie crust.

And we couldn't be happier with the end result.

5.jpg

Here's @halcyondaze flattening out the base dough prior to us cutting them into tiny pieces.

1.jpg

Once they were weighed on a scale to the perfect size, we rolled them into balls and let them rise on a baking sheet. Then we proceded to make the cookie crust which was then flattened using a tortilla press and laid on top.

2.jpg

Finally, each top was scored with a traditional scoring tool and then the conchas were placed in the oven at 375 degrees F.

3.jpg

After 30 minutes, they were ready to serve. They were the fluffy and delicious. I'm now a concha fan. My favorite was the vanilla!

6.jpg

But don't get me wrong, I ate a bunch of the chocolate ones as well!

7.jpg

I'm forever a fan of the concha. If you have a chance to make it down to Mexico City, I highly recommend scheduling a time to cook with a local. You don't only learn a new skill, but also make a new friend.

We loved our teacher so much we all went to get tacos and cervezas after!

My new travel rule: Always make a dish with a local.


If you want to make this yourself, here's the secret recipe :)

8.jpg


Thanks for following along!

If we haven’t met yet, please leave me a comment so we can!

By the way, I’m Jon. Most of my time is spent on my AI company and meeting new people on Steemit. I have lots of hobbies like traveling, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, gardening, cooking, reading and crypto - which I plan to share here. If any of these topics interest you, please let me know so we can chat more!

Cheers,

JONCIRCLE.png

Jon
Follow me: @ucsdsu

P.S. Have you ever had a concha?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh cool recipe. I will try must one day. May be in next weakend.

Please do and let me know how it turns out! I've eaten so many already and crave more. They're addicting

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75