First Post!

in #food6 years ago

Hi Steemit Community!

My name is Shannon and I am a 22 year old currently residing in the Southern United States.

Background

A native of New England, I grew up playing all kinds of sports but took an affinity to the sport of softball. Since I was old enough to operate a stove, I was cooking and baking to my hearts content. I have a love for travel and charity. When I graduate in May, I will have a degree in Kinesiology and another in Business Management. I am planning on getting my Masters in Public Administration with a focus in non-profit management.
I played softball in college at a D1 University in the Southeastern Conference for the past four years and finished my career in June of 2017. I played for my entire life and completing my career was bitter sweet, but I am so thankful for the experience.
IMG_4853.jpg
Myself on senior day!

Vegan 🌱

The day after my softball career ended I decided, on a whim, to become a vegan. No vegetarian buffer period first, just straight from omnivore to plants only. After watching documentaries and reading countless articles, I have solidified myself in my choice and have decided to make this a lifestyle change. I try not to be overbearing and force my beliefs on others, and as you will hopefully see in subsequent posts.

IMG_0003.jpg
AMAZING vegan lasagna I made to bring to my Italian Christmas! Spoiler alert, my meat eating relatives liked it more than their traditional lasagna.

Travel ✈️

I also traveled to Peru this summer for a friends wedding. International travel while being a vegan, especially a newfound vegan, is hard and I will be the first to admit I was not perfect. I ate meat during the 17 day trip. I am not perfect and embrace an imperfect journey to the vegan lifestyle. However, the gorgeous untouched nature in Peru showed me that I wanted to protect nature and I am working on that daily with my lifestyle choices.

IMG_5379.jpg
I have a tattoo of this gorgeous view from the lake 69 hike in Peru.

IMG_5465.jpg
The top and one of the most beautiful views I have ever seen.

Bunny Momma 🐰

I am also a bunny mom to my 3 month old bunny named Stormi. Her momma is a white rex rabbit but she was knocked up by some kind of rabbit outdoors so she's a mix breed of sorts! She loves to cuddle up on my chest and will sit on my shoulders during car rides or hop around the living room when she's out of her cage.IMG_6409.jpg
This is her on the dashboard of my car in Washington DC. Don't worry the car was stopped while she was up there!

IMG_0019.jpg
Stormi enjoying cilantro and carrots, some of her favorite snacks!

Point of the post ✏️

I love to cook and create new vegan dishes using cookbooks or old family recipes just converted to the vegan way of things! I will be on this blog to explore the common myths of being vegan, and tackling a vegan diet on a college student budget. I will also talk about my intermittent travel and the finale of my undergraduate career and the beginning of my work on my master's degree.

Can't wait to interact with the SteemIt Community, and share a piece of me with everyone !

Shannon 😘

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! Stormi is awesome! I predict much Stormi hype and many upvotes! Keep the Stormi pics coming!

Thank you! I will be sure to post pictures of her regularly, then everyone will be obsessed with her as much as I am!

STORMI HYPE!
Also, please post vegan lasagna recipe.

Hi@veganbunnylover great to have you here on steemit. You love it here. Steemit is the promise land of opportunities. Extending a hand of friendship. Im following you. You can see my blog if you want to.

I will be sure to take a look at your blog! Excited to have support on here already, I appreciate it.

Thank you! Excited to be here :)

You will love it here ;)

Congratulations @veganbunnylover, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Welcome To Steem Shannon. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. Such a great community here. :) Also your bunny is really cute.

Thank you! I am excited to learn more about the site and interact with people on it!

Hey! Love the pictures! Can't wait to meet lil' Stormy! Let's get it poppin' :)

Welcome to Steemit Shannon! Glad your finally on here. Can't wait to see what you post next. Check out this group I'm in. These people are great!
TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Who would have thought a New Years Eve conversation got us all a part of the Steemit community haha. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75