My Step-Daughter, The Chef

in #food6 years ago

cheddarbrats.jpg

My stepdaughter, @jennifer78, is at work right now. She calls us on her breaks to check in on her mom. She keeps telling me I need to post and I am not sure how to do this, so she explains some things to me, then tells me to google what I don't know so I am going to give it a go.

She has seen many rough days in her life and I have known her since her mother and I started dating when she was 18. I have seen this girl go from a teenager to a young lady to a caring woman. She has battled many things that doctors have said she would never be able to do again. She was in a very bad car accident in which she almost lost her left arm and the doctors told her she would never have use of her left arm again. She went on to prove to them that she could. She has since went on from only knowing how to make Hamburger Helper to winning five blue ribbons and having several of her recipes published in a bunch of books as well as local newspapers. We are so proud of the woman she has become.

Last night, knowing that she is getting over a very bad illness with her throat, she took it upon herself to make dinner. Her nephew, Christian, is visiting with us. He is my oldest grandson and is a very picky eater. I had picked up some cheddar brats from the store and this is what we had last night. She made some mushrooms and onions to go along on top of them and I am not sure how she cooked them but they went along perfect with the brats.

So, this is my post and I hope to make more, but she also made my favorite, her roasted tomatoes that she said I was allowed to resteem so I will do that to.

She will have a hard day at work today and will come home after working long hours unless her shift is shorter today and come home and prepare dinner again for us tonight unless we decide to throw in a frozen pizza. She missed her calling. I told her just last night that I think she should have went to culinary school. She is self taught when it comes to her cooking and can take whatever we have in the fridge and look in cabinets to see what we have to go with it and come up with something you might find at a restaurant.

We love you Jen and are very proud of you!

-Vernon and Mom

Sort:  

@vernonbaker I am so proud of you for making a post! But this was very sentimental and yes, it did bring a tear to my eye when I read it last night! I was not sure how to respond! Thank you for being a father-figure to me. You never knew how much your advice has influenced me and has meant to me! Thank you for being there for me through all of my ups and downs! Love ya!

You're welcome

I honestly wasn't expecting that from you! Or Mom for that matter! :)

I agree with Gary on this one. She will be surprised. I am going to come up to your house one day so she can help me with my first post. And why wasn't I invited to dinner last night? These look goooooood!

You wouldn't have come up.

Then there wouldn't have been any food left for you man.

You almost made my cry with this. Almost. I am sure when she gets home and reads this she will be in tears!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67