This Easter I had the most amazingly decadent chocolate cake for dessert. And then, a taste of something even better!

in #food6 years ago

I can't believe you said that! – I yelled at him.
Why did you agree when she asked you?

My husband stood in front of me, silent.

I continued arguing: You know very well this year we're having lunch at my mum's place.We talked about this. We agreed two weeks ago. Because we were at your mum's for Christmas, remember?

I forgot, ok? I work hard every day. I have too much on my mind to remember things from 2 weeks ago! – he said and turned on the TV.

So, now what? – I asked.
He flipped the channels. Stopped to watch some car repair show and mumbled nervously: I don't know…

I sat on the couch next to him and focused on Easter decorations at the coffee table.

There was a bunch of cute little ceramic bunnies smiling with their tiny front teeth showing.
A small brown weaved basket filled with tiny chocolate eggs scattered on top of the green and yellow hay.
The entire room filled with an intense scent of fresh hyacinth arranged in a crystal vase.
And, of course, a centerpiece, big wooden branch with colored eggs hanging from smaller branches, each tied with a colorful ribbon.
Typical Easter decorations for a Croatian household.

All the Easter food, please!

Speaking of typical, Croatian people are pretty conservative when it comes to food. We love our traditional recipes, buying ingredients at food markets and eating locally grown food that changes as the seasons do.

We also prepare whole meals from scratch at home daily. Desserts included. Here's a cake my sister baked for today.

easter cake.jpg

On Easter, breakfast is the most important meal of the day.

In continental part of the country, it always includes cooked eggs, cooked ham, cheese, bread, radishes, spring onions, and… taa-daaa, French salad.

No idea where the name came from, as it's not a French dish.

Probably it's named „French“ because it's so rich and pretty „heavy“ if you eat too much of it. But, those who love it (it's one of those dishes that you either love or hate, there is no „in between“) it's sooooo hard to resist the temptation of one more bite.

My mum's French salad is famous amongst family and friends. Seriously, every single person who ever tasted it said it's the best one they ever tasted.
It's carrots, peas, eggs, pickles, seasoning, and mayo.

french salad.jpg

Um... missing the point

Earlier today, as I was munching on Easter lunch delicacies mum prepared for us, hubby texted me saying he's having a great time at his sister's home. We sent kisses back and forth.
I can't wait to see him later.

It brought back memories of how much we both hated having the same problem every Easter (and Christmas, too). Over and over again we would be invited to both my family's Easter lunch and his family Easter lunch.

The first couple of years we would go to whoever invited us first.
But then, the invitations started coming weeks in advance and it was getting out of hand, so we decided to alternate „the schedule“ each year.

In time, we would mix up Easter and Christmas lunches and by then were really getting fed up (pun not intended) whit the whole „where are we having lunch this year“ problem.

I think I was secretly hoping both sides would just stop inviting us, seeing how big of a problem they were creating for us. Talk about Ego-point of view!
Of course, that didn't happen.

More than anything I hated myself. For feeling stressed about this.
Boo-hoo, poor little me, being invited to spend an afternoon with family and to eat delicious, abundant, special food they lovingly prepared for all of us to enjoy.
First world problem, I know.
But to me, this was torture.

Cause no matter who's family we would choose to spend a holiday lunch with, we'd miss out on spending the same holiday with the other side of the family.

I felt guilty and stressed, and unhappy every time.
Not exactly how I wanted to feel celebrating Easter & Christmas.
So yes, I was a textbook example of missing the point of both holidays.
And yes, in my mind, my suffering was created by other people.
This however, is NEVER true.

Choose love. Even over chocolate

This year was different.
We decided to each go to our family for Easter and spend tomorrow at home together (the day after Easter is a national holiday here).

When we were younger I resisted the idea, defending it as „we are a family too, we can't separate and spend Easter apart“.
In reality, we were only apart for an afternoon.

Years of stress and miserable holidays all because I was too stubborn. All because I listened to my Ego's convincing theory that somehow spending time whit those who love me is me missing out on something.
When in fact, this was the most loving, peaceful, fun Easter I had in years.

The best way to silence your Ego is to listen to your heart and choose love instead.

Sort:  

That Cake looks so nice. You're making me hungry now! haha

Yeah, it was delicious.
Lots of cocoa and cherries, yum!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68465.88
ETH 3766.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66