Goan Cuisine - the Ultimate Coastal Food

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Food is my first love. Born in a Vegetarian family, the love for food made me try the "non"-Vegetarian dishes too. I did not want to restrict my palette. My aim in life at age of 5 was to become a "FOOD-TASTER" if there was a job like that, haha. Our trip to goa made me realise how glad I am to switch to the meat side of the world. Though I would be totally okay with living a vegetarian life but the protein adds something that tofu couldn't to my taste buds.

1. Goan Fish Curry

Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 10.57.08 AM.png

Fish, lemon, salt, cumin seeds, turmeric, garlic, Kashmiri mirch, coriander seeds, coconut, tamarind, onion, green chillies.

2. Goan Prawn Curry

Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 10.57.28 AM.png

Prawn, lemon, salt, cumin seeds, turmeric, garlic, Kashmiri mirch, coriander seeds, coconut, tamarind, onion, green chillies.

3. Bebinca

Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 10.57.39 AM.png

This is Goa's most famous sweet. This dessert is a multi-layered cake made from egg, coconut milk, sugar and ghee. Cooking a perfect bebinca is considered an art form. A lot of patience is needed at the time of its preparation as the next layer can only be added once the previous layer has been cooked. Each layer is cooked in the oven until it has a light fudge consistency. This can be eaten hot or cold and is traditionally served at Christmas.

4. Pork Vindaloo

Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 10.57.52 AM.png

Vinegar toddy,onion,pork belly with fat (without skin, garlic,vinegar masala,ginger and garlic paste.

5. Goan Nevri

Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 10.58.09 AM.png

Refined flour, grated coconut, sugar, poppy seeds (khus khus),powdered green cardamom,finely chopped almonds.


Just comment to ask me,my take on the recipe :D

Sort:  

I ain't been to Goa but that Goan curry looks very similar to Cambodian amok curry. All looks delicious ... why not post full recipe how to make, your post will be popular with the right tags.

Love Goan Fish Curry. I made it once and it was delishous but from a recipe online so don't know how authentic it was. I have been a vegatarian for a very long time but recently became a piscatarian (only eat fish and veg) so I know how difficult it can be to get high protien into your diet. I would love your Goan Fish Curry recipe? I have upvoted and followed you :)

Nice pictures i like goan nevri so much.

hmmm yam yaam ..

Amazing post dear. Loved all the dishes. I am also fond of cooking and eating. Love Bebinca but i guess its difficult to make. Upvoted and following u as always.
Regards Nainaz
#thealliance

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73