Have you ever seen a floating market in a mall?

in #food5 years ago (edited)



We have talked about that most luxurious mall I have seen in my life 'Iconsiam'. Believe it or not, it's right here in Bangkok, Thailand! The thing that kinda stunned me a bit is that, they really have a floating market on the ground floor.. 'Whoa!' like, 'Are you serious?'



SOOK SIAM (สุขสยาม) at ICONSIAM

The floating market called 'Sook Siam'

Sook (สุข) means ้happy, happiness
Siam (สยาม) is the way we call Thailand in the past


Happy Thailand easily just like that :D We are called the land of smile by foreigners if you haven't known so.. Let me tell you some fun fact, we smile a lot just because we don't know what you say in English most of the time lolol (Thai joke!)

The food / products are really not the cheapest you could find in Bangkok but you know, it's a fancy mall! Good they got all the samples in a lot of the shops. I was happy! We (@nomadicsoul, @daveonarrival @waybeyondpadthai) did not much at all but walking around, talking and trying the samples and all that.


Some fun stuffs I have tried and even found it weird myself as a Thai person..

Again, 'Are you serious!!?' What you see here are freeze dried mango sticky rice and freeze dried mangosteen. Like, 'Are you serious??!' Yeah, I just did say that twice - Both of them are pure and not having any other stuffs added into the ingredients. After trying both of them, I gotta ask 'Why do people even do this?' Oh my! Really, the real ones just tastes much more delicious.



This thing, I also have never seen elsewhere just yet is this grilled salted egg yolk.. I'm sure a lot of you may question 'Salted Egg' ?

Salted eggs - A salted duck egg is a Chinese preserved food product made by soaking duck eggs in brine, or packing each egg in damp, salted charcoal

I think they're pretty common here around Asian countries. I have heard a lot of the famous salted egg flavoured fish skins in Malaysia/Singapore. I will have to try those!!


Thai Old-School

This Sook Siam floating market at Iconsiam totally has the 'Thai Old-school' theme. You can see from what the sellers wear, how they served the food, and also many types of food that you wouldn't see it often elsewhere as it's old-fashion and not so common anymore. This store sells some dessert/sweet snacks and they're making it right there so you could see. Some of the dessert I really hadn't tried so I bought this thing called 'Kanom Kai Pla' (ขนมไข่ปลา)



Kanom means dessert/snack
Kai means roes/eggs
Pla means fish

A sweet snack in a fish roe shape made from flour and riped palm, boil, cover with syrup and topped with shredded coconut. I love the firm texture of it and the fact that they don't make it too sweet.


Super duper cute Thai bathroom

Well, gotta have the adj. 'Thai' in it as I found it pretty Thai.. The colorful art on the wall, the Thai style giant jars.. Oh! Do we even consider it giant as really, I was stuck in there for a bit in that blue one but oh! @nomadicsoul got in and out that yellow one just so easily!



I so love the bathroom and really, I could just stand there and take photos for an hour or something. All the giant jars they have got different sizes and colours! Other decorations are also cool.. I was so impressed with these small bird cages they have up in the air as lamps.





This Sook Siam floating market is probably something I love the most about ICONSIAM besides their everything golden. It was so fun seeing all these they offer and all the colourful decoration. Oh!!! The freebiessss, how could you resist? :D I sure recommend you check it out if you're ever in Bangkok,Thailand as I found it dang cool!




Mo ❤


Bangkok

Bangkok

Bangkok

Bangkok

All copy and photos are original content by me.

© waybeyondpadthai.com


k9cn9zmuib.png       jnrhf8i8l4.png       ihk2gf42un.png       8q8v4gmdh1.png


TO SUPPORT WITH LOVE 💙 PLEASE SUBSCRIBE!!! TO MY SUPER DUPER AWESOME YOUTUBE CHANNEL :)

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @guchtere and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

I'm hungry😋

Hahahaha have you tried those I show in the post though?? :D

Wow! I wanna go back to Thailand now. 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahahha I do prefer Amphawa still na ka :D

Chúc mừng @waybeyondpadthai, bạn đã nhận được một upvote 25%. Tôi là con bot của cộng đồng Việt Nam trên Steemit. Tôi được tạo ra bởi nhân chứng @quochuy và được uỷ quyền, tín nhiệm bởi các thành viên Việt Nam, hôm nay tôi vote cho bài của bạn để ủng hộ bạn. Tôi hi vọng sẽ được thấy nhiều bài viết hay từ bạn.

Chúc bạn vui vẻ, và hẹn gặp lại một ngày gần đây.

Congratulations @waybeyondpadthai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Okay be right back! Checking AirAsia flight ticket now 🙈🌚

Posted using Partiko iOS

Bwahhaa don't just say it though and oh! bring a bag of salted egg fish skin with you please :D hahaha

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=waybeyondpadthai
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=have-you-ever-seen-a-floating-market-in-a-mall


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Salted egg... hmmmm.... I must try :) then I know what I can say .
Just now I can say it was good to read like all time ... I'm looking forward to seeing a new posts.


Awwwwww hahaha sweet one! Will have it up everyday for sure :D I miss going places around. Hope my freakin' work finishes sooooon!


It is ok :))

Ah ...hey... you could try some very extreme meal... I'm sure you have lot choices there :))


'Whoa!' like, 'Are you serious?'

As a European guy I don’t get this, but I like this crazy fact. Just because you can create a floating market inside of a building loving that! What freebie did you like the most? Hi @nomadicsoul

That freeze dried mango sticky rice is kinda cool. Fun to try but don't keen to buy.. it's not yum lol and hey, you spelled her name wrong :D Mo

Whoops edited :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99