Fermenting Veggies 🥬🥕

in #food5 years ago

A5A1434B-6846-4EEB-9DF5-FC9F957C97FD.jpeg

Do you enjoy eating fermented vegetables? Do you appreciate the goodness they bring to your gut flora? Have you ever tried fermenting your own veggies at home?

This is my first attempt at making my own Kimchi, a Korean method of fermenting cabbage.

First I chopped up Chinese cabbage, radishes and carrots, covered them in pink salt and left them to wilt and release their juices.

8F7A11EC-8685-4B37-9203-6EF0B334E567.jpeg

Then I processed spring onions, garlic, ginger, chili, miso paste and sugar (I think that was all) into a paste.

D885EB9C-28AC-478F-AB14-AAFE90724547.jpeg

FB649252-58E8-4075-AA4F-47D5D56E9240.jpeg

I mixed the paste and some water into the cabbage mix and then pressed it all firmly into steralised jars.

The recipe said to leave for 24hrs then refrigerate for a week before eating. I’m hoping the gas build-up won’t explode my jars but we’ll find that out with time!

So there you have it. My first try at making Kimchi. I tasted the sauce and it was delicious although very spicy!! Can’t wait to try it in a week.

I haven’t been doing a lot of art in this season of life so thought I’d post a bit more about my cooking and our family eating. Watch out for my Wild Sourdough posts coming soon 😍

Have a relaxing public holiday if ya in Aus!

Jessi 🙌

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Do you have to burp the jars periodically. That's the bit that worries me about fermentation, exploding jars! I must try fermenting some of my garlic.

Posted using Partiko Android

The one thing I couldn't get down when I worked in the Swedish food market at IKEA, was the fermented herring. I do like a bit of kimchi though.
@danclarke has it with everything.
Let us know how it turned out.
Hope to see you Thursday :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78