A Strawberry Spring (Foodblog 02)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I thought I would share the experience of making strawberry conserve, the best I can, with my fellow steemians.

I had a marking deadline. I hate marking so I decided to make myself feel-good and make some strawberry conserve.

(Ever procrastinated doing something urgent by doing something not urgent?)

I love strawberries and have already made some stunning strawberry sorbet, recipe courtesy of Thomas Keller Bouchon.

So to the recipe:

1st hull said strawberries.

(Recipe calls for equal weight strawberries to sugar but I prefer 60% sugar to strawberries) (Healthier – consistency will be more fluid.)

Soak in sugar for 24 hours

Bring to boil – Then boil for 5 min. Cool and refrigerate for 48 hrs.

After 48 hrs put in an open pan and bring to boil. Boil for 10 minutes.

Cool for 10 minutes and put in sterilised jar.

Try not to eat in one go.

It’s difficult to describe the taste.

Fresh strawberries on great bread / toast / brioche /fingers.

Spring in a Jar?

https://steemfollower.com/?r=2194

Sort:  

Welcome to the @teamsouthafrica community @wiliamk - you are now an official member. Please remember to use teamsouthafrica as one of the tags on all your future posts to get some community votes ☺️
I have also granted your access to the Discord chat 😉

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Strawberries and Sugar? Yes Please!!! Beautiful post, I enjoyed the phots :-)

Thanks for the reply. There should be lots more food posts in future.

Congratulations @williamk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67186.90
ETH 3110.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77