Japanese Clear Onion Soup

in #food6 years ago (edited)


A traditional Japanese steakhouse appetizer. A strong simmered vegetable broth with mushrooms and scallions. It takes less than 40 minutes to make, and pairs well with any rice entree.

I uploaded the original, longer version of this video on YouTube in December, 2016; right before I first joined Steem. That was 1 month before they demonetized my channel after paying Google AdWords (owners of YouTube) thousands and thousands of dollars to play my videos before other videos to try to gain subscribers and views. They then changed their monetization policy so most newer channels with quality videos that take a long time to produce were all demonetized. Most of my videos back during that time era before the big demonetization were demonetized for not being advertiser friendly. Yes, seriously. Thank God for Steem and DTube. I'm now judged by my peers and not faulty bots programmed by cold, evil corporations. They burried most of my videos from that time are and never showed it to anyone ouside of my followers, but for some reason, they think this video is terrific, and it's been getting over 100 organic views by suggestion every day since I uploaded it.

In the YouTube version, I used a song that was only the flute. I received a lot of stupid comments about how they didn't like the music. Someone just made a comment yesterday about how I should have mixed the music better with my voiceover. I didn't bother explaining how many hours it takes me to edit and mix the audio for every one of my videos; and if he or she only knew how terrible the original voiceovers sound. I'm low income right now and drowning in debt with hopes and dreams of being able to make a living of Steem soon while still powering up, and a soundproof studio is the last thing I can afford at the moment. All I can do it edit and mix better. I think I am getting a lot better. It takes so long removing all the noises and buzzing and static and hisses and dings and everything else, and I'm working with a PC with only 8 gigs of ram and an editing program that doesn't render audio edits, so I have to keeps closing and saving and re-opening so it doesn't crash, and the waveform is always out of sync with what I'm hearing and I have delete every single frame when I'm not talking and manually remove all the pffts and other undesirable sounds. Anyhow, sorry for ranting, but I think I do a phenomenal job making it audible compared to what the original recordings sound like.

I'm a homesteader. Growing plants and self sufficient living is my thing. You can regrow the end of the scallions, carrots; and the heads of celery by sticking them in soil and heavily watering every day until they establish roots. You can even regrow them in water, but a I prefer regrowing in soil. If I was a billionaire, I'd still get my hands dirty and grow my own food because it's healthier and I know it's grow properly.

INGREDIENTS

64 ounces of vegetable broth (or use water)

2 yellow onions

2 stalks of celery

2 carrots

2 cloves of garlic

A handful of mushrooms (white button or shiitake)

2 scallions

A dash of salt and pepper

DIRECTIONS

Dice the onions and saute in a sauce pan on medium heat for about 10 minutes, stirring after.

Chop carrots and celery, and mince the garlic.

Once the onions are soft, add the veggies listed above into the pan.

Add vegetable broth and simmer for about 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, slice the mushrooms and scallions.

Strain the vegetables from the pot, discard the veggies, and put the broth back in the pot.

Add the mushrooms and simmer about 5 more minutes.

Add the scallions right before serving, and it's done!

*Longer and more detailed videos are on my YouTube channel

Sort:  

Thanks for your 150SP delegation
Your publications will be resteemed, shared on twitter and upvoted by us!

Happy Chinese New Year to you!

More soup recipes please!
Also I need an easy all in one pot sort of casserole so as to save some time!
I just cook a big vegetable omelette and put some slices into my freezer!! Cook once for three meals.

What kinds of soups are good for freezer?!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I often make and freeze large pots of vegetable soup and stew. I do intend on making nore soup videos this winter. I'm overwhelmed with issues I need to deal with first. I'm gonna try to upload videos once a week again.

You ought to make some new post!
More soups for winter days!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are truly prolific! I shall have to try to imitate your constant effort to be true to yourself!

Cheers.
These soups are just life savers!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I feel it is a wonderful song with only the flute. No need to care about those critics, all they love to do is give people pain. But we can be encouraged by our real friends all along! Great video!

That's looking delish.... wish i liked to cook lol

Congratulations @xsgreen-cook! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @xsgreen-cook! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @xsgreen-cook! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91