Anyone favour Catfish or “Ikan keli” for lunch at Public Market TTDI?

in #food6 years ago

Normally I see many Malays like to eat fried “Ikan Keli” for their lunch. I had not tried eating this fish until last few months that I was introduced to try this fish at Public Market at TTDI. My friend told me that she loved eating this fish for quite some years when she was working at some outskirts areas at Kuantan. She said the dish is one of her favorites.

I then decided too to try it out at the Public Market at TTDI nearby my work place. I have ordered at 1 of the stall at the market and ta pao it back to office to eat. After sometimes, I had chance to join my friend who work in another department and she told me to try out the other stall near the back of the market which has bigger size for the fish and is same price.

Here it is one of the time that I have taken the catfish for my lunch with one of my colleague.
20180521_131707.jpg
The catfish is marinated with turmeric powder and I guess also with some small amount of salt. I am not sure there are anything else been added to it as surprisingly it did not have any mud smell (so I guessed must be farm-raised). The texture of the meat is very soft and fresh white colour. The fish is fried until crispy on the spot when you picked your own fish at the counter stall. It come separately on another plate together with some long bean, some lettuce leaves, cucumber slices and some tempeh slices and a small dish of sambal as a condiment. You will get a plate of white rice and also a small bowl of soup with the dish. It is considered a reasonable price for a lunch as it only cost about RM6.50 now as price increased from RM6 in previously last 2 months.

This will be my source of protein and I know turmeric nowadays are widely pushed as an anticancer food also. Of course, they are also readily available in fried or other recipe served in other stalls that are selling mixed rice. I preferred it to be ordered on the spot and cooked it on the spot if I have enough time to enjoy my lunch.

Anyway, besides this catfish, they also have tilapia fish that can be selected and it is slightly expensive than catfish by RM1 extra. Both also I guess it being breed in a farm as I think nowadays many foods that we have especially seafood are basically catch from farming and hardly can get it from natural river as the sizes of the fish are almost similar.

I googled about catfish and I found that catfish is high in Vitamin D and farm-raised catfish contains low level of omega-3 fatty acids and a much higher proportion of omega-6 fatty acids. Hmm…making me think again…is it good to have this kind of food? What say you???

Sort:  

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Great! Will join the team. Thanks for your upvote. 🖒

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61