Go-Kart with the Company and Looking for Aini

in #food5 years ago (edited)



Work Smart, Play Hard, Go Kart


The company's HR was asking me about a caption and I gave her this. 'Work Smart, Play Hard, Go Kart' which I believe encompasses everything my company stands for and also just cause it rhymes and it makes a catchy tune. I often find a lot of weird captions by animation companies on their fb group pages because yes....even though we are in the creative line, doesn't mean we're good at copywriting or marketing or even creating our own website. You'll be surprised that many of these animation companies have really bad websites. But today, I'm not going to be talking about that, I'll be talking about how early I've got to wake up to drive about an hour out to our Malaysia's famous international f1 circuit, Sepang.


Rise and Shine


I was contemplating whether I should 'ffk' the peeps because I slept pretty late last night. Oh, ffk is not a bad word btw, it means fong fei kei which direct translates to English as 'put aeroplane'. It's a term used when someone promises and doesn't show up. Mostly goes like this :

'Dam!!! Zord decided to ffk us at the last minute!'

But I didn't. I forced myself to wake up, slapped myself a few times and groggily managed to bring myself to shower. Also because I had to pick two of my colleagues up from office to carpool together up to Sepang International Circuit. So this circuit is actually pretty famous because they quite often hold the International F1 Championship here and Malaysia is known for this because of its big circuit. At first, I thought I was going to drive that tiny gokart around that huge circuit but I soon found out that it was a miniature version of it. THANK GOD!~


Lining up to fill in our death forms


Right, so we were given forms to fill that if we die while racing, the company would not hold liable for any causes etc etc. Hahaha, Just kidding!! But it's something worse than that though. The form states that if we ruin the gokart machine, we would have to pay for it. LOL, that's worse than death! So we all had to agree or else the 1 hour drive up would be a waste just sitting on the bench looking at people crashing into one another.



prepping the gokart with diesel


Smell helmets

The thing about these 'public activities' like water rafting, mountain climbing, paintball and go-karts, the utilities such as the helmets usually have been worn many times by other people. So if you could bear with me and imagine the sweat being sponged into the foams of these helmets as we slide it over our heads. Thankfully! They provided each of us with shower caps for hygiene purposes... Yay for that and I don't have to have my head smelling like someone else. :D


Attentively listening, well not all...


safety briefing


Group photo before the race starts

Each person was around RM159 (40 usd) for a 40 minutes race package. The race package includes 10 minutes warmup, 8 round qualifiers and 12 round grand race. We ended at 11.30am and we were all hungry and sunburnt. I could use a nice fresh coconut drink and some good food. Sure enough, one of the interns suggested that there was a house nearby called 'Auntie Aini's Garden Cafe' and it has some good reviews on tripadvisor as well. So we decided to head there for lunch.



Not Aini's house

Oh Aini, where are you?


We traveled about 9km from the circuit into a village area and lo and behold, a small signboard appeared by the roadside stating that 'Aini's cafe parking here'. Well, I turned in and parked my car at the parking spots made just for Aini. Geez, I guess everything here is Aini.... but apparently not the house above. (Which I thought was the cafe)

I walked towards it and stopped. I tried to find a signboard that shows that it was the right place. I mean, you never know right, some airbnb houses have cafes inside and I thought this was like a 'thing' too that real houses were used as cafes to feel homey. I walked towards it and before I could enter, I spot an old man sitting at the front porch looking at me. My friend called me from the other end of the road telling me that that's actually someone's house and not Aini's. LOL! Glad I didn't enter and make myself at home ey.


Found Aini


Pathway to Aini


Aini's pond of Koi fishes

I can see why Aini got herself quite high ratings because the place felt like a spot in Bali. Gravel walls, nice pathway, wooden shacks, fountains and ponds all around. It was a really nice place. We got ourself the longest table and the waiters were nice and welcoming as well. Would definitely come here again if I ever drive up to Sepang.




There were some really good Malay food on the menu and one which I enjoyed was the Ikan Tempoyak which means Fish Fermented Durian. I KNOW! Who cooks fish with fermented durian?! Durian itself already has such a pungent smell and now you wait till it's fermented and you cook it as gravy? OH YES! It was delicious! One of Kelantan's famous dishes is the tempoyak fish and as you know, durian is my favourite fruit and only can be found in SE Asia region countries like Malaysia. It had a bit of sour taste from the fermentation and a little sweet durian smell.

Overall, the food and the company was good. I'm really happy to be in this company and to have met these new bunch of friends. I really hope that it will stay this way because I know how startup animation companies usually are good now but after a year or two, the bosses suddenly stopped caring for their employees. I hope this would not be the case and I thank God for such a wonderful day as well. Perfect weather, and it feels good to get sunburnt after awhile!

For all you folks reading this, have an awesome weekend ahead!

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,Logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.vornix.blog/2019/03/09/go-kart-with-the-company-and-looking-for-aini/

Sort:  

Really enjoyed that mate! What a shame they don't let you drive around the main Sepang circuit! That would be incredible. Looked like a wonderful day. I can't remember the last time I went carting. Inddor circuits were all the rage in the UK in the 90s but not seen any for a long time.
PS I notice you didn't tell us who won ;-)

It's just Saturday, you still can sleep in tomorrow mah! LOL
As long as you had fun today!

@zord189 I really enjoyed your post.
My husband's grandfather owned a go cart track. So my husband has some stories from childhood. Love your catchy phrase too. .Perfect.

Cool! That would be a good spot to write a food review!

Looks like this was a lot of fun! Makes me really impatient to get my motorcycle out of winter storage to buzz around with my head in the wind too!

Wooow you have a suuuper young team! Must be a blast working with them :)

Congratulations @zord189! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 59000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98