Happy Chinese New Year 2019 | Reunion Dinner

in #food5 years ago (edited)


Mum, dad and me

Glad to be Home


I was looking forward to this year's Chinese New Year, reason being, I just ended my job with my Korean company and before starting my career in the new company, I get to have a longer break for Chinese New Year. Not too rush but just a nice long 1 week+ to spend back in my hometown.

Before starting the new job, a good long rest was good and I get to spend it with my family and friends. I learned in life to not expect too much and just to live life to the fullest and that is what I did exactly being back here for the 5th day now. But before sharing with you guys about my Chinese New Year visiting, I would like to share my homecoming and reunion dinner first.


CNY preparations


When I got home, my dad and I decided to set up the Chinese New Year decorations. I was home 3 days early before the night of our family reunion dinner which was Chinese New Year eve. So my dad being the handyman he is, did all the wiring for the bulb lanterns and firecracker lights to be hung in front of our entrance. You know... just to get into the mood of things.


firecracker lights


two fat golden lanterns


dad hotwiring the connections

And before or the night of eve, although we are not superstitious about any Chinese traditional lore (because we're Christians), we just love having our gate front decorated and smell like firecrackers. It's just the way to get the Chinese New Year mood coming in. So my dad and I set up a 3000 firecrackers tied to a wooden pole just to 'paint the entrance red'.


Ready to light


The aftermath

Everything just looks happy and red, for the Chinese, they believe red is a 'lucky' colour for them. Hence, the traditional costumes, the Cheongsam and Sam Fu are normally red. The red packets are well.....red. Lanterns are red and people who believes in luck would start hanging other red decorations all around the house.


Reunion Dinner


Every year, we would spend reunion dinner at my aunt's place with loads and loads of food. The whole part of feeling the prosperity is to have the sense of too much of food to finish. So it was always an enjoyable moment when it comes to having a big feast during reunion dinner.

However, this year both parties, my aunt's family and my family said that they wanted to 'take it easy' so we'll just have a steamboat reunion dinner so we all didn't need to prep anything much beforehand. We kinda couldn't finish the food....as usual... so we left it for the next day.


Steamboat


Cooking the meat and stuff


My mum and I


Countdown to CNY


Before we left home, my dad and I brought 2 packets of long firecrackers to be lid at my aunt's house. He had another 2 stored in his storeroom and they were both 2000 and 3000 firecrackers. We kinda think that it wasn't long enough so we had them tied together to get light them at 5000 each. Ohhh... it was a blast. :)


Before I go, I just want to wish anyone of you that's celebrating Chinese New Year a Happy Chinese New Year once again and I hope that this year would be a great one for you guys! Here's to 2019!


Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,Logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.vornix.blog/2019/02/06/happy-chinese-new-year-2019-reunion-dinner/

Sort:  

Man you guys know how to do it up right!

I remember working for a big multinational company and we would have our annual sales kickoff meeting around this time. The Chinese folks would seem so emotional around that time because they were missing out but they were so hard working and dedicated!

Relax and recharge and enjoy my friend. We have work to do this year!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @zekepickleman :) Yes! It's sad if the Chinese dudes are not allowed back to visit their family during Chinese New Year. It's the only time when all would get together to have a feast.

I am so thrilled you were able to spend some time at home with your parents before starting the new job and career!

Rest well now, cause once you start working again.. there will be no down time.

Yes, I'm glad that I've had a long week off. :) When I go back, it's crunch time!

Happy Chinese New Year to u and ur family @zord189

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you bro. Happy CNY to you too!

So looking forward to hearing about the new job and so glad you had some real time with your family. Happy new year, @zord189

Thank you @fionasfavourites! I hope you guys are missing me already! hahahha :D

Been missing you for a while @zord189! When you coming home?? :D

Happy Chinese New Year @zord189!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks bro :) Happy CNY to you too bro

5,000 ? That's like total self created fireworks!
Most important be safe and
Gong Xi Fatt Chai to you & family

Hehhe, yeaaa self created. Thanks @ireenchew. Hope you and the family is having an awesome time too! Happy Chinese New Year

Happy CNY bro and to your family

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy CNY to you too bro!

So Nice to See the family bounds and celebrations !
And ZORD you got a beautiful mum....

Thank you, she would be so happy to hear you say that! I'm gonna let her know tonight. :)

Happy chinese new year, may God bless your family

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Happy CNY to you too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62