TeamMalaysia | Good to Travel with @goodwithtravels

in #food5 years ago (edited)


Photo by @goodwithtravels

Welcome to Malaysia


I hope we didn't scare @goodwithtravels with the constant eating but if you come to think of it, that is what most Malaysians do in and out of their past time. Yes, we love to eat and I'm sure all Malaysians including one full-fledged Malaysian, @redpalestino can attest to that.

It has indeed been awhile since a lot of us have a big meetup. It is hard to gather and have everyone's timeslot free but I'm grateful for @aaronleang and @joannewong for trying their best in accommodating everyone's time.

I miss meeting up with these peeps

Most of the time, we would have a bigger group gathering is when an International Steemian decides to come to our shores and happen to be in KL. This time it was none other than @goodwithtravels. Of course, we had planned a full Malaysian afternoon to evening food course. From the authentic Malaysian curry laksa, to teh tarik and lastly, durian. You can NEVER forget about the King of Fruits.

A total of 11 of us came. @goodwithtravels, @bitrocker2020, @joannewong, @orangila, @zord189, @awesomianist, @vaelriey, @redpalestino, @davidke20, @sam.hsuu and @littlenewthings but we're missing the lovely @elizacheng who couldn't join us because she had some family matters to attend to.


Good with Food



I have never been to this but this was the middle point for most of us so we've decided to give this place a go. The curry laksa was good. Flavourful and not too spicy. Not the best I've had but still pretty good in Malaysian standards. I ordered a set meal that comes with a drink and a side snack, fried carrot springrolls.

When I got there, the team was already eating and indulging in delicious food and I was glad to see all of their faces again. Particularly one steemian that I haven't met in awhile, @redpalestino. Good company, good food what more can you ask for?


Fried carrot spring roll


Curry Laksa


Ice Kacang


@goodwithtravels enjoying his Malaysian shaved ice


@goodwithtravels being interrogated by #teammalaysia

Just Kidding! We were really nice to him....I hope. We introduced the Ice Kacang to him which means shaved ice dessert. In Malaysia, we love to have our Ice Kacang during the hot season. When the food came, @goodwithtravels exact words were 'This looks weird but cool'. Eventually, he finished it so it must be good.


Photo by @bitrocker2020


Photo by @bitrocker2020


Drinks and Chats



@littlenewthings and @goodwithtravels, @orangila at the back

After lunch, we head up to another cafe called 'The Teh Tarik Place' which reminded me of the talkshow I used to do for #teammalaysia called 'Teh Tarik Sundays'. Due to lack of active Steemians nowadays, I've put it on hold until the next rise of probably the steem rates that obviously draws many Steemians to start back their blogging. Apart from that, we just wanted @goodwithtravels to try out the infamous Malaysian drink, Teh Tarik. It's pulled-tea and it takes some skills to create its frothiness on top of the drink. The foam is its uniqueness.



@redpalestino talking about life


The dudes and friends


Durian Time


You have not completed the 'Malaysian course' if you have not tried this fruit. The KING of fruits to be exact. You either love it or hate it. We've decided to let @goodwithtravels have a taste of this legendary fruit that can only be found in several parts of South East Asia. For a moment there, I thought he would not like it but when he said he was okay with the smell of it, I knew that it wouldn't be a problem for him.

PS, I still feel a little guilty forcing @nomadicsoul to eat her durian when she was in Malaysia.



Smelly goodness



What can I say? We're content creators.


@goodwithtravels having his first bite

@goodwithtravels took his first bite and said that the taste was 'indescribable' . He couldn't find words to describe it until when all his emotions and tummy settled down, he called it 'bizarre' in a good kind of way. He enjoyed it a lot. Also, there was one other Steemian who was 'dying' to grab his hands on some durian, even more desperate than any other Malaysians. When you LOVE durian this much, you are already a Malaysian.


@redpalestino and his durian


Sadly, @bitrocker2020 and @davidke20 couldn't join us for this feast but as I said earlier, these meetups are always what I call 'good company and good food'. It is the people that makes everything else more worth it. Even if you're having a bad day, you meet them and they will brighten up your day. I'm grateful that #teammalaysia's core team have still been going strong even after 2 years. Come to think of it, there were only 11 of us in the community when we started. Now we have over 1000+ members active and inactive.

One thing we hold dear in our hearts, Steem will always be our home for this community and we are in this for the long haul.


@goodwithtravels and me

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,Logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.vornix.blog/2019/03/31/teammalaysia-good-to-travel-with-goodwithtravels/

Sort:  

That is so awesome that #teammalaysia got together like this! I had no idea that the durians were that big! Over here in the States, they seem so much smaller!

It was like an eating fest over there!!!

Send us doggie bags!

!tip

OMG! You guys are having such a blast!

I so want to figure out how to get the locals around here though few organized for a get together this summer somehow ;)

Miss you all!!! My girl had minor food poisoning... Stomach pain on and off... Diarrhea on and off... 😖
Glad you all have a great afternoon!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Aiyoo.... no worries. Next time Ryenne okay dy, we can meetup ba :D

OK. OK. OK

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh no! I hope she's all right now @elizacheng

Posted using Partiko Android

Still recovering... On and off diarrhea... So can't be going anywhere as she will need to go toilet quite often especially after eating.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh noes... Do you have carbon pills? She'll need to be rehydrate too. 🙏🏼 She'll be better soon!

Posted using Partiko Android

Good to be part of the picture!

Posted using Partiko Android

No you no fun

It's a shame for me having to missed the chance meeting him here. I'm sure he had much fun from Sabah to KL.

And That's how redpalestino and oranggila looks like😂

Next time buddy @goodwithtravels.

Hey, who sneezed?

Posted using Partiko Android

Next time indeed, @robmojo; I’ll definitely try and come back again as I’m now a HUGE fan of Malaysia 🇲🇾

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome bro! That's good to hear. I wish you all the best in your travels.

Posted using Partiko Android

Fun fun Fun only durian stinks doesnt it

Wow major food trip day! I love ice kacang, without the kacang. haha!!!

What a great post :D Team Malaysia seems really like awesome super great host <3 and the food and the photos and the durian looked really cool <3 <3 <3

I have never had Teh Tarik though sometimes I see a stall or two here in Melbourne's china town areas... I'll be sure to give them a try next time :)

Glad you have those often :) Also, I like the atmosphere some of your photos bring with their good depth. Like the redpalestino one. Still waiting to be able to do meetups :) Someday ;)

Oh thanks :) It's the Huawei P20 Pro camera. Pretty good phone I would say. :)

Yeah, it's also how you use it ;) Good job.

Looks like a great time, food, and company. Hoping you didnt !sneeze on anyone at the gathering ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50