Homemade Taco Seasoning Recipe

in #foodblog5 years ago

taco-seasoning-with-spoons.jpg

Hello all you Steemians out there! Today I'm going to teach you how to make the best, most delicious taco seasoning you've ever had... trust me.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Recipe

This is the perfect seasoning for any mince taco recipe.

For all you people out there that are still wasting their hard earned money on store bought taco seasoning, I give to you the best, most cost effective, delicious and amazing solution to all of your problems.

Yes I'm talking about homemade taco seasoning.

This seasoning is the perfect combination of spice and deliciousness. It's super easy to customise and you will never be disappointed with it.

Also it is sooooooo cost effective compared to buying those little sachets of taco seasoning (which are loaded with sugar and salt) every time you want some tacos.

taco-seasoning-layers.jpg

How to make your taco seasoning

Step 1 is to gather your ingredients. I personally would recommend going to a bulk spice shop and getting a decent amount of these spices.

Those little 10gram jars you buy from the shops are expensive and really not worth it.

I would recommend finding one of those wholesale places where you can take your own jars and fill them up with herbs and spices. This can not only be more cost efficient but its also way better for the environment!

Once you've got all your ingredients together it really is as easy as chucking it all in a jar, giving it a good shake up and stepping back to admire all your hard work.

One thing you might notice is that I add cornflour to my recipe. For all you Americans out there this is the same as cornstarch!

You don't have to add cornflour if you don't want to. I only do it because it helps thicken up my sauces etc. when I add taco seasoning to a recipe.

My final little tip and trick for making your own perfect taco seasoning is the chilli. I normally use around 2 tablespoons of chilli powder in my seasoning. I have tried up to 4 tablespoons before, definitely a bit spicy for me! If you would like a very very mild (not spicy at all) seasoning then only add 1/2 tablespoon-1 tablespoon of chilli powder. If you are more adventurous then feel free to up the chilli powder as much as you want!

Around 2 tablespoons will give you a mild-spicy mix i find.

taco-seasoning-on-spoon.jpg

How to use your taco seasoning

Finally the bit everyones been waiting for! How much of this awesome concoction do you actually need to use?

Well, I find if I'm making the classic mince taco. You've got approx. 500g mince meat, your onion and garlic, you want to add around 2-3 tablespoons of your taco seasoning.

The more of it you add, the spicier it is likely to be, so keep this in mind.

The Recipe

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp chilli powder
  • 2 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp cornflour
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Method

  1. Place all ingredients into a sealed container and mix well.
  2. Store in a cool, dry, dark place.

This content and photography is all my own

For more awesome recipes, check out my blog at https://sarahemilyskitchen.com

Thanks guys, Sarah

Sort:  

Congratulations @sarahskitchen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@sarahskitchen, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56