Breakfast at Sonnys

in #foodie3 years ago

This morning we decided to maintain a routine of a walk on a Saturday morning and a nice breakfast. Sometimes you get so carried away with all the jobs that you need to do on a weekend you end up having no time for yourself at all. It's nice, Autumn, too - brisk mornings, but not too cold, and there is a certain feeling in the air that makes it nice to walk. There's still things ripening but the autumnal leaves are falling and the chainsaws are going to bring in the wood before it begins to rain.

We thought we'd give Sonny a try in Inverleigh. Only ten minutes from us and half an hour from Geelong along the Hamilton highway, Sonny is a hub for this country town, selling good quality food as well as local produce. Plus, my son's been working there for months and we haven't even given it a try. It used to be called Red Door but has changed hands.


20210320_092003.jpg

I did love the little book table in the middle, and even bought myself a book - more on that in another blog. There's herbal, food and local produce books, recipe books and a good selection of indigneous books as well. We ordered, and sat down outside to enjoy a coffee - although I had a golden latte made with coconut milk, and it was a damn good one.

20210320_093731.jpg

It's been so long since we've eaten out, mainly due to COVID but also that we didn't have a wage for the second half of last year. Then I guess we got out of the habit. It's not cheap to eat out, but I think every now and then you have to treat yourself. It was super lovely sitting in the sunshine waiting for our food, and watching the local hubub as people met friends for drinks and cake. The atmosphere was really lovely. It's quite a cool little eatery as well - beautiful dark green walls and cute wallpaper, and brown paper displaying the menus on the wall. It had a really good feel to it.

Then, the lovely waiter aka cook aka my son arrived, bearing our delicious breakfast. That's one way to get your boy to cook for - get someone else to pay him to do it. I'm pretty biased, but I think he's rather handsome. Poor kid just finished a sound engineering degree and COVID hit, so like everyone else in the entertainment industry, there's little to no work. It'll be cafe work for him for a while yet.

20210320_092202.jpg

Jamie had ye olde classic, bacon and poached eggs on brown sourdough. The bacon was from Banangarook - free range pork. He's looking quite happy here and waiting for me to finish taking a photo so he can dig in.

20210320_092450.jpg

As for me, I chose avo on toast with dukkah. I haven't had avocado in ages as it's been a bit expensive and as I've been doing online shopping I haven't wanted to get other people to choose my avocados! I nearly chose the home made baked beans which looked amazing, served with quark and corn chips - I might try those next weekend! The avo was sprinkled with a good quality dukkah with whole coriander seeds, sesame seeds and roasted hazelnuts, topped with some roquette and drizzled in olive oil.

20210320_092232.jpg

I must say I'm never that keen on eating out as I do a better job myself, but I really enjoyed Sonny - the food was good, the atmosphere was nice, and the service was friendly. Some might say it's a bit on the expensive side at $16 to $20 a breakfast, but hey, people have to pay their staff, and I think sometimes it's nice to splash out and reward yourself for working so bloody hard. I'd rather a breakfast sometimes than a dinner - the vibe is different, and it's so lovely eating in the sunshine. So there you go, @livinguktaiwan - I finally got my cuppa out at a real cafe, and it didnt' feel weird at all.

Sonny is located at 15 High Street, Inverleigh, open 7 days from 9 -3

Sort:  

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85