A BIRTHDAY CAKE FOR MY MOTHER-IN-LAW, INANG SIONING

E405441F-6022-4002-98DC-FBAC27115AFF.jpeg

When my kids and I were in Abu Dhabi, UAE, our hosts, Ron and Kareen brought us to Magnolia Bakery to try the cakes and cupcakes there. Then Karen gifted me a book she bought from the store entitled, The Complete Magnolia Bakery Cookbook by Allysa Torey and Jennifer Appel.

In the above cooking book, I tried to look for a recipe for the birthday cake of my mother-in-law, Inang Sioning, and I chose The Old-fashioned White Cake.

The ingredients are the following:

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 cups self-rising flour
1 cup milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
4 large egg whites

Because of the high cholesterol and high sugar condition of Inang Sioning, I chose this recipe because of the absence of the egg-yoke and I replaced the sugar with a coconut sugar, hence, it was a cholesterol and sugar free cake.

I used the recipe for The Old-fashioned White Cake from the Cookbook I received, but with a twist by incorporating the Filipino favorite desserts of Ube (purple yam) and macapuno. It was a two-layered cake. I spread the Ube in between the layers and placed the Macapuno on top with cherries for the added taste and looks. I named the cake UBE-MACAPUNO BIRTHDAY CAKE.

When I gave the cake to Inang, she was beaming with gladness and asked me, "Ikaw ang nag bake? (Did you bake it?)" I told her yes. Then she said, "Eh di buong araw mo ginawa yan? (Did you do it the whole day?)" I responded, "Siempre love kita eh. (Of course, because I love you.)" Then she replied with a big, "Thank you."

Then, one of the children of Inang said, "Eh paano yan, sino naman ang mag bake sa birthday mo bukas? (Who will bake your birthday cake tomorrow?)." She asked that question because it will be my birthday the day after Inang Sioning’s birthday.

With that question, I realized what our Lord Jesus Christ said that "It is more blessed to give than to receive. (Acts 20:35)." Though at times, some people are not appreciative and thankful because they see that it is your responsibility to give them a gift, nonetheless, we still have to give because the Word of God says so and we are blessed when we give.

I thank Ron and Karen for the beautiful cooking book they gave me. I am sure with this book, I have more opportunities to explore in the field of baking for the enjoyment of other people.

With the above recipe I gave you, try and enjoy baking. Will I receive a birthday cake you have personally baked for me from anyone of you on my next birthday?

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 03:56:49
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 35.40/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55