Pamcooks Rebellious Risky Rosti! โค๐Ÿฅ”๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿฅ”โค

in #foodphotography โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

image

Hi my steemian beauts,

Hope you all are having a fab day! Well I have really enjoyed posting my fusion recipes for you recently. My taste buds have been on fire, pass me the extinguiser!! Lol.So what was pamcooks going to explore today.Well I was having a wonderful convo with a fello steemian @happycrazycon we were discussing the humble rosti and the best way to cook it.

A rosti is originally a swiss dish.It primarily consist of potatoes shredded in a fritter style and is traditionally eaten for breakfast.Everyone has their own way and it is eaten all over the world. Well I have my basic version, however for this post I wanted to pimp it up, pamcooks style!

This recipe was slightly risky, hence the title, as it is a new creation for me.I had an idea in my head and with a bit of magic, hey presto came out fab.Here is my recipe to cook 8 medium sized rostis.


Ingredients


4 Potatoes (medium size)
1 Onion (small)
1/4 Red & Green Bell Peppers
1 Carrot
1 TBS Self Raising Flour
1 TBS Gram Flour
1 Egg Yolk
1 TSP Salt
1 TSP Pepper
1 TSP Garam Masala
1 TSP Tumeric
1 TSP Cajun seasoning
1/2 TSP Chili Powder
1 TSP Parsley
1 TBS Olive Oil
1 TBS Butter (Melted)
1 Egg


Method


Step 1.
Wash and peel the potatoes.Now grate them.Ensure you squeeze all the water out.You can do this by putting the grated potatoe in a tea towel, bring the edges together and ring the top to squeeze all the water out.
image

image

Step 2.
Wash and cut the red & green peppers into very thin strips.It should be a similar size as the grated potatoes.With a paper towel dab all the excess moisture out of the peppers.
image

image

Step 3.
Now wash and peel the carrot cutting off the top and tip.Now grate the carrot.Ensure to squeeze all the juice out the carrot using the tea towel method.
image

image

Step 4.
Peel the onion.Cut in thin strips again like the size of the grated potatoe.Using the paper towel method used on the peppers, ensure excess moisture is removed.
image

image

Step 5.
In a big bowl place the grated potatoes and carrot.Also add the thin strips of onions and peppers.
image

image

Step 6.
Now in the bowl you now need to add the dry ingredients.This includes tumeric, garam masala, cajun seasoning, chilli powder, parsley, gram flour, self raising flour, salt and black pepper.
image

image

Step 7.
To bind it all together you need to add the egg yolk with all the other ingredients and mix thoroughly. (The addition of the two flours will also ensure the mixture holds better together, as without it, they will disintegrate.)
image

Step 8.
Prepare a tray and brush it with cooking oil of your choice.I have used olive oil.I have used my yorkshire pudding trays as they are the perfect size for the rostis.The rosti needs to be separated into 8 equal portions.
image

image

Step 9.
Now simply put the individuals portions in the tray.Press down firmly to form a patti.Brush over with the butter, so it crisps up whilst cooking.Place in the oven Gas mark 7 / 218ยฐc for 20 minutes.
image

image

Step 10.
After 20 minutes remove the rostis out the oven.You will need to turn them.The rostis are very delicate carefully tease around the edges to eventually lift the whole rosti up with a spatula and turn.Place back in the oven for further 20 minutes.
image

image

Step 11.
After the 20 minutes,depending on your oven,the rosti should be now cooked.Make sure its golden brown with crispy edges.
image

image

Step 12.
Let the rostis cool down for 3 minutes and serve immediately.
image


There you have @pamcooks rebellious risky rosti.As you can see they are not the conventional rostis but very tasty.You can make these in advance and they are the ideal picnic treats.I serve mine stacked with a delicate poached egg garnished on top, with a few sliced peppers.My husband was so hungry he was rushing for me to take my foodie pics.lol.By the time I took the last click, he swiped the plate and devoured them like popeye with his spinich.lol.

My Foodie Pics

image

image

image

image

All my photos and content used in this post are my original work. My photos were taken on my Samsung S7 camera phone๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ“ธ


I hope you like my rosti invention, just as my hungry husband did! Lol.You can have this for breakfast, lunch or dinner.Mmmm what other things could you add to a humble rosti?๐Ÿค”.What would you serve with yours? I can try your suggestions and post my findings.Thanks for stopping by.Let me know your food for Though!โค๐Ÿฅ”๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿฅ”โค

Sort: ย 

This looks so delicious! I have copied your recipe and will try it out sometime very soon. Great photos of the process. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @elsiekjay. Congratulations and best wishes to you. Also, you may be interested in a fun new Discord channel focused entirely on cooking and foodies. It is called Steemkitchen. Here is a link to check them out - https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Aww thank you @energyaddict22. The rostis came out amazing.Please let me know how you got on with the recipe. I will defo have a look at the channel steemkitchen on discord.Thanks for attaching the link.Much appreciated.Thanks for your lovely comment.๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ

WOW @pamcooks! They look perfect and your recipe is so easy to follow. You were so good in turning them over. The golden brown of your rosti look super beautiful! I am surely going to give this a try, hopefully soon, you know, to redeem my failure hahahah! Thanks for doing this! :) <3

Gotta resteem this!

Awww bless you.Know you prob have alot going on especially after the passing of your grandma.But when you get chance defo try this.

Do you know what gets it the golden brown colour, is the butter you brush on before you put it in the oven.

Oh my gosh yes your exploding egg, dont worry about that i have had my fair few incidents too.๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚.You will redeem yourself. Your 2nd attempt at the whats cooking challange will go down good.You have my guide now.lol

Aww thank you for the resteem! It would be my first ever.I really appreciate the support.

Sending lots of @pamcooks loveโคโคโคโคโค

Pam this looks great as always. My mouth is watering. Will try this for Sunday morning Breakfast.

Awww thank you @gweedy.Oooh let me know how it comes out.You may need to substitute the egg for a replacer.Also using vegan butter.Other then that your good to go on this one.I think it is ideal for brunch too.๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ

You are welcome. I think you are just using the egg for a binder but I will look for an egg substitute or find another binder. Reminds me of a recipe I used in the past but it used cheese and sausage which are a no no for me now.

Well I tried your recipe but altered it a bit since I went vegan and could not use eggs. Also I did not have your 4 large muffin baking tin so I made one big muffin in my trusty cast iron pan.
Since it was just me eating I only used one big baking potato which I estimate about the size of two normal potatoes. So in essence I halved the recipe for today.

For the egg substitute I used a table spoon of ground flax seed, a teaspoon of olive oil and teaspoon of water and mixed it together and used it in place of egg.

Since I was not sure if the egg substitute would actually bind the stuff together I first put some canola oil in the pan and fried the potato mixture till brown on one side.potato1.jpg
the binding did work as I was able to flip it over in one piece and put it in the oven at 400 degrees F for 12 minutes
potato2.jpg

It was terrific! The perfect Sunday morning nosh!
Thanks

@gweedy this is awesome.That looks amazing.So glad you tried the recipe and adapted it to your needs.You got it to bind thats the main issue dealt with.

To be honest its tricky flipping it over with or without egg.Once the flip is done its fine.As the veggies and potatoe crispen up together, it should hold its shape.
Thanks for sending me the photos.You made my day honestly.It is so nice that you tried my recipe.I am a happy bunny๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿฐ๐Ÿ’› ( p.s wish my vote was worth something as you deserve 100%)

It was my pleasure! Honest!

Looks so yummy! I could imagine adding some bacon bits to it too.

@viking-ventures thank you.They did really turn out yummy! This could be a very sophisticated mini breakfast.Rosti, egg, bacon and maybe a garnish of roasted tomotoes on the vine.Hoe you try it out.๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ’›

I might do, but once I'm grating potatoes, I'm more likely just to do my hashbrowns. (And sometimes it becomes a part of a full English breakfast!) :-)
But adding a bit of carrot or sweet potato to it wouldn't go amiss.

Looks like a very tasty dish. I will have to try it one of these days, after I am allowed to eat potatoes again.

It is such a scrummy dish even though its a new creation.lol.Oh no why cant you eat potatoes?

I have to watch my carb intake for a couple of months, so potatoes and corn off the menu for now, along with a lot of other things.

Mmmm how about leaving the potatoe out and just use carrots and peppers instead? Could work.maybe

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 15:53:26
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 58.40/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow. As always, you served us with another mouth watering recipe hon!
This is a definite must try one of this days. Thank you Thank you
Please keep them coming on the constant.
The more recipes the better!
I featured Your Post Here

Wow! Very nice presentation! I love the name you given to the recipe!

As I also written 2/3 posts of recipe it really will help to add more quality to my post!

Happy Cooking!
Happy Blogging!

Ahh! ! @pamcooks! Those rosti look radical! I was totally sold once I beheld the spice parade that you included in your most excellent recipe. Yum! I knew you were beyond talented and hilarious, but your rosti flipping skills are legend. I would totally have rototilled rosti/hashbrowns for dinner as my flipping skills are often found wanting, lol, you should see what I do to pancakes;o)

Thank you so much for sharing your marvelous experiment, I'm thinking that I might give them a go for Sunday brunch.

@generikat i love your way with words.lol.Pancakes are a difficult skill to master.Many a time a fair few have seen them kinda stuck to my ceiling, thankfully my co- ordination has gone better since meeting the other half.lol.๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Well my flipping skills still remains to be seen.You should have seen the state when was turning them bad boys.My hands were trembling.Hubby was breathing down my neck as he wanted a taste.Just about teased them away from the tray.Key thing oil or butter them well.

Defo do a brunch with these. I reckon a nice rasher of bacon or if you wanna get all fancy some panchetta would make it.

P.s i am working on my new invention tommorow, a dessert but the ideas stemmed from your lemon slice.will prob post on sunday.If kids will let me do the write up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63