Pamcooks Scrumalicious Sweet & Sour Bom Bom Surprise!โค๐ŸŒถ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒถโค

in #foodphotography โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

image

Hey my steemian sweeties,

Hope your are all well? I have been enjoying an amazing sun filled week with my crazy family.My little beautiful boy turned 2 years old.He is still my little baby though.Oh how the time just flies when your having fun.The sun has been out and it really just puts everyone in a good mood.So what am I cooking for you today?

This dish of mine is dedicated to an awesome steemian @artonmysleeve. I have only been on steemit for over 3 months but he has been one individual who has been an incredible help.He is honestly like my steemit version of the citzens advice bureau.lol

There is something strange in the steemit hood? Who you going to call?...... @artonmysleeve.

I wanted to thank him for all the advice he has given over the months to help me on this steemit journey.He has a wonderful wife and gorgeous kids but always manages to find time in his busy schedule to help.

So as a thank you I was going to create a fusion recipe based on his favourite food, which he told me was Sweet & Sour chicken with fried rice.Mmmmmm Ok.....so what could I do to elevate this??

Well to me the most famous sweet & sour dishes I am use to, is an indo asian dish called chilli chicken.This is a cross continent side dish incorporating indian and chinese flavour together. So whilst racking my brain I had an idea of a chilli chicken bom bom rice ball surprise.So my culinery invention has an indian chilli kick, chinese sweet & sour vibe and even a little italian influence with the rice ball.Check this recipe out for my Bom Bom surprise!

( P.S. I have to be honest I needed to give a big shout out to my mummy for providing me most of the ingredients.lol.Pamcooks was shattered organising 2 parties for my son this week.lol.( This is why my lack of presence on steemit).So bless her, grandma arranged a home delivery service in the form of my lovely daddy!)

Enjoy!


Ingredients


Fried Chicken Pieces
1 large Chicken breast
2 large TBSP's Plain Flour
1 large TBSP Corn Flour
1 TSP Cayenne Pepper
2 TBSP's Honey
1 TSP Black pepper
1/2 TSP Salt
3 TBSP's Olive Oil


Chilli Chicken Sauce
1/4 Green bell pepper
1/4 Red bell pepper
1 Small red onion
1/4 leek
2 Cloves Garlic
2 TBSP Crushed Ginger
2 TBSP Tomatoe Ketchup
1 TBSP Soy Sauce
1 large TSP Chilli Flakes
2 Green Chillis ( Add more for bigger chilli hit!)
1/2 lemon


Bom Bom Coating
2 Cups Basmati Rice
1 Cup Breadcrumbs
1/2 Cup Flour
2 eggs
Salt & Pepper to taste
80g Cheddar cheese


Method


Step 1.
Cut your chicken breast into very small pieces.
image

Step 2.
Add the cornflour.
image

Step 3.
Now place the plain flour in the bowl.
image

Step 4.
Add black pepper.

image

Step 5.
Add cayenne pepper.
image

Step 6.
Add honey.
image

Step 7.
Finally add salt and thoroughly coat the chicken pieces.
image

Step 8.
Pour the olive oil in a pan and turn the heat to a medium.
image

Step 9.
Once oil is heated put the coated chicken in to the pan.The chicken will start to sizzle.
image

Step 10.
You should slowly see the coating turning brown.
image

Step 11.
Cook the chicken for few minutes turning occasionally.Once the chicken is cooked through out, take out of the pan to drain on kitchen towel.
image

Step 12.
Using the same pan put more olive oil with the remaining chicken juices and add garlic followed by the bell peppars.
image

Step 13.
Now add the leeks.
image

Step 14.
Now place red onions in the pan.
image

Step 15.
Put the crushed ginger with the rest of the vegetables. Stir well ( i use a chopstick to ensure the vegetables do not break). This will only take a few minutes you still want a bit of crunch to the vegetables.
image

Step 16.
Now add the coated chicken.
image

Step 17.
Pour in the tomatoe ketchup.
image

Step 18.
Add the chilli flakes.
image

Step 19.
Add soy sauce.
image

Step 20.
Add green chillies & squeeze of lemon.Thoroughly mix. As the chicken is already cooked your just looking to coat all the sauce around it.Should take a minute or so.The chilli chicken filling is now made.Now set aside.
image

Step 21.
Boil the rice in salt water. Once rice is cooked, drain the excess water.set aside.( I pre made mine earlier.) You can also use pre made packet rice to save time.
image

Step 22.
Now to create the Bom Bom, tear a 30cm by 30cm cling film square.( Mine was very roughly done)
image

Step 23.
Place 4 large table spoons off cooked rice and spread on the cling film.Pat slightly down.
image

Step 24.
Now sprinkle cheese in the middle.
image

Step 25.
Add two table spoons of chilli chicken filling.
image

Step 26.
Now bring the 4 corners of the cling film together and twist to create a ball.
image

Step 27.
You can try and mould the cling film containing the rice ball by rolling on the surface to create perfect round sphere shape.
image

Step 28.
Carefully remove the cling film as the Bom Bom at this point could easily break.Now whisk the eggs in a plate and dip the rice ball in the mixture.

image

Step 29.
Mix plain flour, bread crumbs and a bit more cheese in a plate.Coat the Bom Bom with the mixture. Try and maintain the sphere shape.
image

Step 30.
Leave the Bom Bom for a few minutes to stand, so the coating can dry and become more crunchy once fried.
image

Step 31.
Heat up frying pan on a high heat.Once hot, turn to a medium heat.Now place the Bom Bom in very carefully.
image

Step 32.
Now slowly using large ladle spoon, keep pouring the oil over the rice ball. The rice ball is very delicate this will ensure it cooks.( Otherwise if it is prodded to much the ball could collapse)
image

Step 33.
The colour should now go more darker.Once it is golden brown, take out the frying pan.

image

Step 34.
Now it is ready to serve.

image

Heres my very scrumptious take upon sweet & sour chicken & fried rice with a pamcooks chilli kick.You can serve with different dressings and sauces. The various vegetables bring a natural sweetness with the bell peppers and red onion.I would have used mozzarella cheese for a more oozy cheesy filling but I never had any, so I stuck with good old cheddar cheese.

This recipe can make 4 individual Bom Boms. I served mine with a cool sour cream chive sauce and a lovely chilli tomotoe relish.Garnished with cut chillies on top and whole chillis on the side.


My Foodie Pics


image

image

image

image

image

image

All my photos and content used in this post are my original work. My photos were taken on my Samsung S8 camera phone๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ“ธ


I hope you like my fusion chilli chicken surprise! The use of the various mixed cultural influences worked fabulous to create my perfectly formed Bom Bom surprise. Mmmm what other fillings could you possibly use for your very own Bom Bom surprise?๐Ÿค”.Thanks for stopping by with @pamcooks. Let me know your food for Though!โค๐ŸŒถ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐ŸŒถโค

Sort: ย 

BOOM you have smashed what I think is a brilliant dish into an astounding dish.
I love what you have done with the idea I have given you and your photos of the food make me want to dive in and munch a way.

WELL DONE @pamcooks
This was a surprise twist to something that I enjoy and I will be giving this ago over the weekend.

I have another suggestion for you if you want to give another one ago.

The classic Fish and Chips lets see what you can make this idea turn into, I would love to see something amazing like you have done with the sweet and sour.
Love your work and I have resteemed it too. :)

Awww bless ya.Thought you would like it. Sorry took me ages just been really busy.Had my babas bday so been hectic all week.Have not even been on steemit much.But back on now.Ive got a briyarn recipe for another lovely steemian coming up this week.

Oooh fish and chips.Thats a challange.You know i love fish and chips.It is such a classic one should not mess about with it.I will have ago though.lol.I need to maintain the vinegar essence.My brains in overdrive now!!

When you try the bom bom please post me your pic.Would love to see how you get on with it.I am actually quite proud how this one come out as i devised it myself.๐Ÿ‘

It's going to be like that for me over the next 2 weeks too, My birthday is at the end of the month and my little girls is in the first week of june. I have a lot of cooking to do with the partys we will be having.

try the fish and chips and I will try the same one and we both post at the same time and link them together. make it a challenge that any one can join in on and we will vote on the best out of all the entries.
Do you think that's a good idea?

I am hoping to do the bom bom this weekend, if not monday at the latest, just found out the my neighbour has got me a chain saw for the weekend and I am wanting to get the trees at the back of my house taken down so I can start to plant my butterfly garden, starting to think that when I am done it will be next year now when i see what all my hard work has got me.

Serious.My eldest bday in june to.Yep party plan can be a right mare.Oh bless and it is your bday too.Atleast you in a nice new home now.

Yeh defo let me know when you want to do the fish recipe.So can get ingredients.I dunno how you get time with all your posts.I feel like i dont have much time as i am back n forth from school.Always something to do.lol.But defo lets generate some form of competition.

There is no pressure on the bom bom.Try it when you free.lol.Get that garden done.Bit of Charlie Dimmock going on!

lol, I try and post 3 times a day, but its more like 3 times one day and one another. I have a lot of free time if I work things around things if you get me. normally I wait till the kids are in bed before I pick up my laptop. if I get my baby asleep in the day I go on for an hour.

I'm going to try and do the fish and chip challenge for next friday. this way it gives us both a week to get things done.

We will post them first and add links to each others posts, by editing it in later.
then we will open the competition up to the steemit world and we will both judge them and make a post together saying who wins.
The way we will do the post for the winner is you do one week I do another and we share the SBD from the winners titles.
We can talk more in steemit chat if you like then there will be no interference from 3rd parties.

Wow, it looks so tasty. I would definitely try this. Seems like snack but definitely can make the stomach full ^_^

Lol definitely.Aww thank you.To be honest it is more of a show piece for a dinner party.I would just serve rice and chilli chicken to my husband as a big meal.No beautiful crunchy ball pamcooks has the washing, ironing and cleaning to do.๐Ÿ˜‚

(Oooh im excited @kobold-djawa i bought all my ingredients for your byriani.Will be cooking it tommorow and post it hopefully next day.I told your husband you will make it for him ๐Ÿคฃ - sorry to put you on the spot.Follow my step by step.You should be fine.)

Sorry have not put it up sooner just having my 4 kids can be so hectic.They do not let me do anything.So any spare time i get i try and do my write up one day.Prepare my ingredients on another.Then I cook it.lol.๐Ÿ‘

I only have one kid, but I'm busy all the same hahaha.
I'm looking forward to try out your biryani recipe later.

Pamcooks Scrumalicious Sweet & Sour is the best

Awww thank you @makesushi I defo try my best.Bless you. You work with alot of rice you should try them out.๐Ÿ‘

Oh my friend! What a bomtastic bit of cuisine fusion! You are so freaking amazing! I might have drooled a bucketful reading this post of genuis! I so love that you included cheese, and I am wondering what a pinch or two of Chinese five spice would do added to the chicken chili part. YUM! I am so going to try this dish, my husband is Hawaiian and we really enjoy all manner of fusion food!

Also, Happy Belated Birthday to your son! 2 parties? Dang lady! I hope you got a mom recovery day after all that:o)

Kat I never have a mum recovery day.lol.My little recovery time when i go to loo just for 2 minutes ( and then the door opens and my bambinos start a big debate! ....Nice) Then i am Straight back in the game! Lol. Aww thank you.Little man had fab time. Got spoilt rotten!

Hey chinese five spice yeh that would sooo work.If you didnt want to use honey for the sweetness to the chicken you could use TBSP of marmalade.I make chicken wings marinated in soy, five spice & marmalade honestly they are friggin amazing.Your hubby would defo like them.๐Ÿ‘

Oh do I hear you on the lack of recovery time, especially when toddlers are lurking...

Oh my chicken wing droolage alert! My husband just kept nodding as I read him your wings concoction, hope to get to see a post on that someday! I'm seriously thinking about firing up the outdoor pizza oven and making a chicken chili pizza in your honor, with marmalade! Right now though I am going to crash and burn, spent all afternoon installing about a 1/2 an acre of weedblock in my not small garden, I keep telling myself all the veg will be worth it;o) Hope you got three blissful minutes in the bathroom today, ha!

The right termonology used LURKING! Waiting to pounce on mummy.I love it just not when I am on the loo๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜ฅ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚.

Oooh thats a new invention i am sooo loving the pizza idea.You have an outdoor pizza oven.Thats friggin amazing.Always wanted one of those.Defo try the chilli pizza let me know how you get on with it.

Oh them pesky weeds trying to keep them at bay.Hard work! Again i need to sort my garden out and start growing my own fruit & veg. My mums fab at it.Bet you were nakerd.Dont worry the Guns๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿ’ชon you the next day will make stallone look like a smurf.lol. I do bit of bread making.Can tone the arms and eat the carbs.Happy days!!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-17T09:39:24
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 51.20/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

nice recipe, i definitivaly will try it for tomorrow lunch

Oh please do @vhfoto711.That would be fab.Share some of your photos if you make it.๐Ÿ‘

Congratulations @pamcooks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wow great delicious Scrumalicious Sweet & Sour Bom Bom Surpri.๐ŸŒน

I like it. I'm pleased that you have come back on steemit with a good recipe of amazing food.
May God bless your mother who helped you for make good food dishes.
Thanks for sharing a good quality post.

This is mind blowing, I m sharing with the wife right away !
Wow ! Just Wow! That type of fusion cuisine requires a little bit of technique I have to admit, and you did that effortlessly!

Awww bless you.To be honest I am noo culinary expert @edprivat.I am literally a bogstanded home cook.Just been taught at a very young age from my mum.oh and i love my cookery programmes.My step by step guide should help any novis.Defo show your wife espec if she does all the cooking.I would love to see use create my dish. I think the Bom Bom would defo be a winner! Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63