Pamcooks Tasty Tunaliscious Samosas!!❤🥔🌽🧀❤

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

image

Hello my sweet steemians,

I honestly can not believe how popular my last post was with my pukkah parantha.So following on from this, I thought Iwould give you another one of my fab fusion recipes.Incorporating my favourite indian snack with my favourite sandwich filling.I know sounds crazy but the taste is incredible! Seriously!!

So whats Pams favourite sandwich filling? No point guessing, just realised the clue is in the title.lol.Well my all time fav sarnie is good old tuna and sweetcorn with a packet of cheese and onion crisps.

In a very, very, very rare moment. I had 5 minutes of pondering time before I was interupted by the twins singing frozen for the millionth time.lol.But I managed to keep that trail of thought concocting my new recipe and produced these golden crunchy delights.Here is my scrummy recipe for you all!


Ingredients


10 Ready made spring roll pastry Squares

130g Tuna Flakes

110g Sweetcorn

35g Cheddar cheese

1 large Potatoe

1 small Onion

1 Tsp Cajun seasoning

1 Tsp Salt

1/2 Tsp Pepper

1 Tsp Parsley

40g Plain Flour

Vegetable oil

Squeeze lemon


Method


Step 1. Cut, peel and dice very fine, the potatoe and par boil, so the cubes hold its shape and does not disintegrate.

image

image

Step 2. Place your tuna in a bowl ensuring it is well drained ( if using tinned variety).

image

image

Step 3. Grate the cheddar cheese.

image

image

Step 4. Peel, dice and sautee the onions in a pan using 1 Tbs of oil (Ensure the onions don't burn).

image

Step 5. Prepare your sweetcorn,whether to defrost from frozen, drain from tinned or cut from a cob.

image

image

Step 6. Add the potatoe, tuna, cheese, onions and sweetcorn in a bowl.

image

Step 7. To this now add the cajun seasoning, salt, pepper, parsley and squeeze of half a lemon.

image

Step 8. Mix all the filling ingredients thoroughly in the bowl and leave to one side.

image

image

Step 9. Before filling the pastry make a flour glue paste, to stick the pastry together.Place plain flour in the bowl and add 4 Tbsp of water.

image

image

Step 10. Mix the plain flour and water to make the paste and set a side.

image

Step 11. From the ready made pastry pack, take a square sheet out.( Ensure you have a wet tea towel and cover the remaining sheets,so they do not dry out).

image

Step 12. Now cut in 3 equal rectangles.Each pastry square will make 3 somasas.

image

Step 13. Take one of the pastry rectangles to begin assembling the somosas.

image

Step 14. Put one tablespoon of filling mixture in the top of the pastry strip.

image

Step 15. Now fold the left hand corner to the right hand side.Ensuring the filling is tightly contained.

image

Step 16. With the triangle formed, using the glue add to the edges, so they stick together at every fold you make.

image

Step 17. Keep folding the pastry following the triangular shape forming, tucking the filling as you go along.

image

Step 18. Keep using the glue on the edges.

image

Step 19. Following the same method, fold until the pastry finishes.

image

Step 20. Once completed, check they are completely sealed, so the filling can not escape.Use the flour paste to help seal any open edges.

image

image

image

Step 21. Heat up a pan with oil on a medium heat setting.Pour just enough oil to cover the samosas, roughly 1 cm high. You will have to make a few batches depending on the size of your pan.

image

Step 22. Shallow fry the samosa for few minutes either side until golden brown.Do not take your eyes off while frying as they can easily burn.Drain the excess oil on a paper towel when you take them out.

image


There you have my very lovely Tunaliscious samosas done! The recipe I have given will make 30 samosas from 10 sheets of filo pastry.These are just great for a snack or even a picnic.There very satisfying indeed so eat them while you can! Especially in my household.

What is great about these samosas you can freeze them when uncooked.They can last up to 3 months.When you want to cook them, defrost 2 hours before and fry them as normal.No one would even tell the difference! Just serve with your desired sauces.Mine is hot pepper sauce.Yum Yum!!


My Foodie Pics


image

image

image

image

All my photos and content used in this post are my original work. My photos were taken on my Samsung S7 camera phone👍🏼📸


I hope you like my fusion samosas, just as much as I do! Lol.This is one of my fav recipe, as it is based on my fav sandwich filler.What is your fav sarnie filler and will it work in the samosas🤔.I can try your suggestions and post my findings.Thanks for stopping by.Let me know your food for Thought! ❤🥔🌽🧀🐟❤

Sort:  

Great recipe! They look delicious! Thanks for sharing :)

Although my upvote is small I am happy to share it with you.

Aww bless you @moontje.I am in the same boat but also happy to vote you too.Hope you try my recipe.👍🏼👌

Looks fabulous!
I've had to go vegan for health reasons but your post is making me salivate!

Thanks @gweedy.Well here in the UK you can by a can of Vegan Toona made by sophie's kitchen, which is plant based.So if you just replace that and the cheese you can make it yourself.

Oh and i know your on the health kick, so you could just spray them and pop them in the oven gas mark 4 for 20 mins turning them around half way through until golden brown.There are ways around this to ensure you can try them! 👍🏼👌

Cooking is not really my thing, but I'm sure following your step by step tutorial, I could do it. It looks delicious.

Aww bless you. I tried to make it so even a novice can create the dish.Please try it and if you do send me your pics i will create a post about it.👍🏼.They do taste amazing if i do say so myself😂😂

I love veggie samosas. thanks for showing me how to fold them! Will try to make some too!

They are one of my fav snacks also.Amy you could do the vegan alternative to tuna, by using Vegan Toona by sophies kitchen, we have this in the UK.

You could also use roughly mash chickpeas,add vegan mayonnaise, with a little tahini and drop of soy sauce and season to taste.This is a great recipe for mock tuna.Use vegan cheese and your good to go with my somosas.I have made the vegan version for my very good friend who turned vegan about a year ago.She loved them.Let me know how you get on.👍🏼👌❤

No vegan convenient foods here in Cambodia. We have to make it all ourself. But using chickpeas is a great idea. Thanks for the tip!

No problem Amy.It really is very tasty.Let me know how you get on if you get chance to make it.👍🏼

I will once I have more time. So busy with the bakery and coffeeshop/health cafe right now that my time in the kitchen is very limited :(

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 20:21:38
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 48.30/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @pamcooks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Delicious SAMOSASmy dear friend nice post.

Different filling of somasas that we normally are use to.My kids love them

You are right my children also like Potato Kababs bless you and your children.

I like ur fusion. Thank u very much for this post plz visit my blog and upvote

Thank you for your lovely comments.i will check your posts.I see you are new on here.Stay connected

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71