I Didn't Know It's That Easy to Make a Fall-Off-The-Bone Oven Baked Ribs - My First Try Ever!

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

20180422_140127.jpg

This is the finished product of my very own baked ribs.

I've been wanting to learn so much how to make this one for my family, specially for my husband, who's very picky on the food he eats, and it was only today that I got the chance to give it a try. Fried chicken, steak and spaghetti are the only ones he loves from what I cook. He isn't fond of trying to eat foods which is not familiar with him. He just sticks on what he has grown up eating, unlike me who's not afraid to try different ones and even those foods which look new to me.

The other day, he bought fresh pork ribs for the first time and I thought maybe he's challenging me to cook it. Well, it was my pleasure to make one for him and so I gave it a try today.

The ingredients I used:

RIBS
2 1/2 pounds pork ribs

FOR THE "SCRUB":
1 pc lemon
1/4 light brown sugar
2 tsp chili powder
2 tsp paprika
1 tsp salt
1 tsp mustard powder
1 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp pepper

FOR SWEET AND SPICY BBQ SAUCE:
1 tbsp canola oil
1/4 cup finely diced onion
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 cup ketchup (I used the left over ones from Mcdo lol I have finally used them all!)
1 tbsp hot sauce
2 tbsp light brown sugar
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
salt and ground pepper

Instructions

PREPARE THE RIBS:
Heat oven to 300 degrees F.
Cut the ribs in half/desired length.
Rub ribs all over with lemon juice.
Coat ribs with dry "scrub ingredients".
Place meat side down in large baking pan and cover tightly with foil, shiny side out.
Bake in the oven for 2 1/2 hours.

So, while baking, MAKE THE BARBECUE SAUCE:
Heat the canola oil in a saucepan over medium heat.
Add onions and cook until translucent.
Add the cumin, ketchup, hot sauce, brown sugar, and apple cider vinegar.
Stir well, seasoned with salt and cook for 2 minutes.
Set aside in preparation for the ribs to finish roasting.

FINAL STEPS:
Remove from oven and pour off liquid.
Brush barbecue sauce all over sides of ribs.
Set oven to "Broil" and return ribs to the same oven rack, UNCOVERED, and broil about 5 minutes per side.
(Just watch out from time to time so they don't burn. I got nervous when our smoke alarm has beeped because some corners of the pan got burned. Thankfully, the ribs were all still fine!)


This was the first time I took the ribs out from the oven to brush the BBQ sauce on all sides:

20180422_133952.jpg

Getting ready for broiling.

20180422_133518.jpg

Finished product:

20180422_140120.jpg

And here's me after my successful baked ribs! Haha!

C360_2018-04-22-14-43-15-404.jpg

I initially intended to send those pictures above only to my hubby, but when I saw the ribs looked so enticing, I thought of sharing my happiness with you guys because it's easy to do although the ingredients seemed complicated but they weren't.

combined ribs.jpg

Hubby enjoying his dinner. :)

20180422_190410.jpg

It really feels good serving the ones you love, no matter how big or small it may be, as long as it comes from the heart and you enjoy doing it for them.

"Above all, keep loving one another earnestly, since love covers a multitude of sins." - 1 Peter 4:8


Have you voted for your witnesses yet?

Consider casting your votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @themarkymark, @ausbitbank, @cloh76.witness, @curie, @pharesim, @yehey, @vesteem, and @ocd-witness.
I voted for them because I believe in their passion and ability to add value to our community - for everyone's voices be heard, and for our skills and talents be known.
To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


Make your voice be heard! Come and join the Discord groups I am involved with right now.

sarahdandridge.gif

3.gif
https://discord.gg/EDmwk9q

DQmfHnYEEyUx7zi2uQjjnyYdxLibvPGgp8VJxyAaKSovcvw.jpg

STEEMBULLS

https://discord.gg/pMRdAdV

sarahdandridge.png

https://discord.gg/GSgESw

#Dynamicsteemians, #SteemPH, and #Steembulls are a great platform especially for new Steemians. We are a community of people who help one another in having our posts get noticed, read and appreciated. Come and join and be inspired!!!
Check out interesting posts by @evlachsblog (my sister), @ryl, @dangerousangel, @dynamicgreentk, @futuremind, @ntowl, @pkalra, @honeychum, @bunnychum and many more!!!

received_10213288088429954.png

Sort:  

That´s a great first Try.

Yes it was! I didn't think it'd turn out so good! 😀 thank you for visiting my page. 😊

I gave your recipe to my Mama hehehe

She's going to love it! 👍tell her to use olive oil instead, I just used canola oil because it's the one I had at the moment.

She used olive oil, that's the only oil they used in that household :)
They loved it, thanks @sarahdandridge

We apologize for the continued delay of our upvotes. We’re working hard to obtain more SP to keep up with all of our amazing Thunder Supporters. Thank you for your continued patience and support! You are the lightning to our THUNDER!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Congratulations @sarahdandridge! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wow, those ribs look AMAZING

I really like the layout of your blogs. Keep up the great work! Also, thank you for the mentions, as a testament of my gratitude, I've added you to my auto. You will receive votes on every single one of your posts from me.

Much love,
@futuremind

Wow...thank you so much, @futuremind! I'm glad you liked my blogs. Have a great day/night! 🤗😊

You're welcome 😀

Well done!!! You will learn more recipes and will be great in the kitchen. I will also try your recipe one day, when my husband and I have already cleared what's in our fridge. My mother-in-law (oh, God bless her!) always cooks food for us, that's why I don't really get to "harness" my cooking skills and abilities (haha!!!).

Thank you for sharing! I bet that's really yummy!!!

I learned a lot of cookings when I got here, Ate @evlachsblog. It's really yummy because my husband loved it. You know how picky he is.

Likewise. I have learnt a lot since coming here. Thank God my husband will eat anything (except sinigang and anything with bagoong). I don't worry about what to cook for lunch or dinner. He's really easy. Your husband, on the other hand, just likes the basic food. You need to be extra persuasive so you can get him to eat what's on the table. LOL!!!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 09:54:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 18.25/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Wow ang sarap naman nyan kabayan. Pano ba lutuin yan?

Naku madali lang sobra. Patience lang kailangan mo kasi you need to bake the ribs for 2 and half hours para malambot sya. Sundin mo lang yung recipe ko friend, ganyan mismo ginawa ko.

Ay sige friend try ko yung recipe.

They look delicious! Waiting to see a more recent post of yours.
God bless!
Daddy William

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71