The Dish #3: A Late Night Glorious Gyro at Nick the Greek in San Jose, California

in #foodphotography6 years ago

Sometimes the only thing that will satsify hunger is a gyro. And, while I live in the one of the food meccas of the world (Sonoma, California) one thing we don't have? Gyros.

We have no Greek or Middle Eastern food. I'm often left driving an hour out of my way to find a falafel, schwarma, or gyro. Heck, at this point I've had more gyros in England than I have had living in California in the past year.

I spent the night in San Jose, California this weekend (details on the trip coming to a Steemit blog post, soon!) and I saw a play at the Tabard Theatre. found myself hungry after the play - it ended at 10 PM - so a late night snack was in order.

That is when I pulled out my iPhone, launched Yelp, and I found it: Nick the Greek.

Chicken gyro with fries (and a beer) at Nick the Greek

After the play, I walked about a block away to Nick the Greek.

I knew what I wanted: a gyro. I opted for chicken, sans onions (not a big onion enthusiast) and ordered fries on the side. As if the experience couldn't get any better - they had Mythos beer on the menu.

Of course, I had to have a Mythos! Mythos is like the Budweiser of Greece. Something has to wash down this gyro.

I received my number, and took a seat at one of many tables - the restaurant was designed in blue and white colors and very clean.

Alas, my number was called. It was a glorious experience.

Thin sliced, seasoned chicken from the rotisserie. Gently placed into warm pita bread and stuffed to the gills with tomatoes, lettuce, fries (yes fries!!) and a tasty sauce that was a blend of mustard and tzatiki.

Thank goodness they had napkins on the tables - I went through probably a thousand, given the drippy, delicious, saucy nature of my morsels.

I proceeded to snarf (devour!) the pita and fries, following up each bite with a swig of Mythos. It was heavenly. 

Just typing it now, I can taste it. Damn, why I am a 2 hour drive from Nick the Greek?

The on-duty manager, who is Greek, was eating his dinner by me and was extremely friendly - greeting me and when he saw me taking photographs of my food, said "let me know how many likes you get!" with a charming wink.

Distractions aside, as I write this, I think to myself: "Sarah, if you had a gyro place in your town, would you take it for granted?" Yes, I probably would.

First world problems. 

Nick the Greek has locations throughout the South Bay. Learn more at nickthegreeksj.com.

What's your late night go-to food?

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 37.335348 lat -121.892790 long Late night gyro goodness at Nick the Greek d3scr)

Sort:  

Tzatziki sauce is the best! My late night go to food is Mexican food.

Yum! I LOVE Mexican food late night, too. Nothing beats a taco (or two...or ok, three) from a taco truck after a few drinks (or in my case, a play!) Thanks so much for reading and sharing your favorite!

That is sooo true ! I usually don't eat gyros, I save them up for days when I can feel like I can eat a horse. That's when I can eat the whole thing ! And it will be the only thing that hits the spot no pizza or sandwich can help me than!

Haha! It's like total pig out food. Pizza is absolutely #1 on the list - New York style, of course!

Awesome. A beer selfie this time. Sort of. Sounds like my kind of place. I am traveling in DC right now and did the same thing last night. Not the play part, just the Greek food. I went for falafel. Mine wasn’t as good as yours. Apparently.

DC has some great food though. What neighborhood are you in?

Crystal city.

Blagh...Arlington. Can't really recommend any places to dine or drink around there. :) (That's what the Metro is for!). I lived in DC for years before I moved to Cali.

lol. True. I like to go into DC to eat. The first thing I did was charge my metro card up. Lol.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 00:28:37
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 76.70/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 29
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=sarahvain
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-dish-3-a-late-night-glorious-gyro-at-nick-the-greek-in-san-jose-california


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77