Growing Figs

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

Food Photography
Sunday 22 July 2018

Yesterday I picked the first two figs from my fig plant. (Here's the first.)

I started growing this plant three years ago.

At the the end of the first short summer, one fig grew but it never matured.

Last year, by the end of the summer it had grown two figs, neither of which matured (though I found a way to hasten the ripening of the fruits, I was not successful at getting the fruit to ripen—likely I was too impatient).

This year we tied up some of the branches in the spring—because all of the branches wanted to grown down not up. So we bent the branches up. We'll have to do this again, because I didn't do it securely enough and some of them have since slid down the dowel rods to which I tied the branches.

This year, however, NINE figs grew on the plant. The first two of which we just picked!

I didn't have high expectations for the flavor of the figs. From what I had read this particular variety, Brown Turkey, apparently didn't taste as good as some other varieties. We grew this variety here because it is a more cold weather tolerant variety.

I've liked figs for a couple of decades but have only found them in stores shipped in from other countries or at least from far away.

One of the two figs had a spot that we cut off, which left us (my wife and myself) with about one and a third fig each. From looking at them, I wondered if the white part next to the skin was an indication of not being fully ripe.

My wife made us brunch with bacon and eggs. I harvested the potatoes from our garden a few days ago. They are delicious this way by cooking them in very salty water, dipped in butter as they are eaten.

It was a delicious brunch, but the really exciting part is that the figs were the best tasting and textured figs I've ever eaten!

I am so excited!

Pocket computer photos

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-22T14:28:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 624.00/200.00
Total Photos: 96
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70