Steemians, here is my entry to the Steemit Valentine Food Contest by @Mutitum

in #foodphotography6 years ago

So here's my first recipe ever on Steemit. I used my phone to take the pictures; I know my camera would have done a better job.

Anyway, let's jump right to it. I like preparing this meal because it is easy to make and is also very nutritious.

Food we're cooking: stuffed bell peppers.

Served with: Irish potatoes and salad.

Total time needed: 1.25 hours

Ingredients:

<< Bell Pepper
<< Minced meat
<< Onions
<< Tomatoes
<< Pepper
<< Garlic
<< Ginger
<< Salt
<< (Coconut) Oil
<< Irish Potatoes
<< Beetroot
<< Carrots
<< Coriander
<< Anything else (add whatever you like; have fun doing it)

A selfie of most of the ingredients

Method

As the title says, we're preparing stuffed bell peppers. While you could stuff them with pretty much anything, I chose minced meat.

Cook it like you would do normally, adding all the ingredients you like. I added some mixed herbs to mine for more flavor, besides that from the garlic and ginger.

Boil your pepper for around 10 minutes then allow to cool.

As the peppers cool, preheat your oven for around 10 minutes, at around 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Stuff your minced meat stew into the pepper - it's best filled to the top.

To save energy and time, I put my irish potatoes into the oven together with the pepper. PS: I had already boiled the potatoes.

It will take around 30 minutes in the oven for the pepper to get cooked.

Salad

For my salad, I steamed beets, local spinach (mchicha), carrots, and onions. Just a few minutes does it. Alternatively, one could go ahead and use vinegar on the raw veggies. Be sure not to over steam, otherwise you lose all the nutrients.

Here's how everything turned out. I always have fun preparing and eating this, hope you do too.

Note:

I've used omelette as stuffing in the past and it turned out GREAT.
1 is so filling so have it with something light like a salad. However, there's too many other dishes you could use.
I suck at explanations but still.... 😎😎

Thanks @mutitum for creating the competition.

Light & Love!

Sort:  

Food is good to me in the stomach. In the next meetup carry me some

Remind me 😊

I will. I hope @jeanwandimi organises one soon

And you said you didn't know how to explain stuff.

Question. How do you think it would turn out if you didn't boil the peppers first?

I will try this recipe. And post my results.

Meanwhile as you were the only one who participated. You get an upvote from @air-clinic.
Good work.

Boiling them allows the flavor to get absorbed better. At least that's how I think that's how that science works 😂😁 However, it's not compulsory.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 19:55:41
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 105.55/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

wow, nice, I should try this, my favorite is the salad

The salad is incredibly tasty and healthy.

Looks delicious and super healthy. Nicee

I would eat the meat and leave out the pepper, lol.

Not a fun of pepper huh. I mostly do it for the pepper 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75