MARCUS RASHFORD IS MADE IN MANCHESTER

in #football6 years ago

MARCUS RASHFORD IS MADE IN MANCHESTER

What is it like being Marcus Rashford? Inside United magazine recently sat down with our homegrown hero to reflect on his rise through the ranks and a fledgling career that already encompasses over 100 appearances, four trophies and a blaze of memorable goals…

This season has seen you pass 100 appearances for United, not long after turning 20… how did it feel to pass that milestone already?
To be fair, I didn’t really think about it that much because it happened so fast. You’re just playing games and trying to win every one, so when you do get to that 100th game, or 100th start or whatever, it’s something that seems to have come very fast, because you can remember your first game like it was yesterday.

At the start of the season did you set yourself any targets in terms of appearances and goals and, with only a few league games to go, how are those targets looking?
I wouldn’t say targets because there are a lot of things that can influence a target. If you set a target and then you get an injury, or a setback in any way, then it’s almost saying that that target is out of the window. You do have a target in the back of your mind, but it’s never the main thing because you’re not in complete control. So, for me, it’s just about playing the games and trying to help the team win as many as I can. If you do that, then nine times out of 10 you reach the targets that you had in mind.

What was it like to score those goals against Liverpool?
It’s always quite a fast-tempo game against them and this wasn’t any different. They were pressing well and we were sticking to our game plan and it just worked. When the first goal came, it happened fast. I didn’t really have much time to think about it. I had a picture in my mind of what I was going to do and then just executed it. The second one, I had a little more time – I had seen the ball coming back to me and where the keeper was running, so I knew I could put it back to where he came from. The roar was crazy, but it always is against them. I remember when Zlatan scored last year against Liverpool, everyone went crazy!

How pleased are you for your mate Jesse and the season he’s having?
Just the final thing. He’s always been a top player and the movements that he makes off the ball are terrific. But I think now he’s getting the final thing – whether it’s a goal or an assist – and it’s something that we’ve spoken about in the past. Now it’s coming together for him, so I couldn’t be happier for him because when you work so hard on something and then you don’t score the finish at the end or you don’t make the right pass at the end it’s hard to take. Now he’s getting it right all the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.95
ETH 2946.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55