Steem FIFA World Cup Fantasy League: Week 1

in #football6 years ago (edited)

aifzotmwbqkaqsngabpf.jpg Image Source


The emotional spectrum of football was trembling 60 minutes into Russia’s second match against Egypt when Artem Dzyuba scored one of the biggest goals of his career. His exhibition of classic centre forward play had put Russia three goals up. Salah was late to the party and found it difficult to make in impact in a match of this tempo, but still experienced a moment of consolation from the penalty spot. However, it pales in comparison to Russia’s achievement, having all but qualified for the knockout stage. The World Cup could not be going any better for the hosts!

Fantasy Team.jpg
My accumulated points for the first round

Not buying into the farcical pessimism surrounding the Russian national team, my faith in Russia’s footballing ability paid dividends last week with Akinfeev keeping a clean sheet. Unfortunately, Alan Dzagoev pulled up with a hamstring injury and was substituted off, along with my chances of any goals or assists. The impressive contribution of Villareal winger Cheryshev, who replaced Dzagoev, led to Golovin playing the number 10 role through the centre, and it suggested that Russia have the adaptability that could help them go far in the tournament.

During the middle of the week, I was left frustrated by poor performances from Germany and Brazil. I had begun to fall down the table despite a clean sheet from Akinfeev, and on top of this, many had doubled up on Ronaldo’s hat-trick despite a tough fixture against much fancied Spain. Thankfully, as the week progressed my clean sheet predictions began to pan out and I managed to end the week back in the top 20, until I was deducted points for Carlos Sanchez’s red card and two goals conceded against Japan.

Fantasy Team World Cup.jpg
My team for the second round

Many scoffed that it was only Saudi Arabia, but I kept faith in Russia and it has set me off again on a good start as I currently sit in 7th place in the league set up by @acidyo. Going into week two, I have a similar strategy as before and I am aiming for clean sheets and goals against much inferior opponents. Should I need to substitute, and due to the Neymar injury, I have saved on my transfer budget this week and was able to afford a stronger bench after playing my wildcard.

But should I substitute Golovin for Tom Rogic?

As a Celtic supporter I know what Tom Rogic can produce, and with Australia facing up against a considerably weaker opponent this week, there is a good chance that he could contribute significantly to my points total.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61