Which football player would you most like to sit down with and have a quiet word about their career with and why?

in #football5 years ago (edited)

I would first sit down with Messi because who wouldn’t? It would be a very quiet affair because most of the time I’d be watching replays of his amazing moves and asking him how could he did them, to which he would just smile. Then, as we part, I’d remark that I don’t fancy his new hair and beard, but I appreciate his growth in leadership. Finally, I wish him tremendous luck in the next World Cup because it’d be tragic if the best player of this generation would end his career without the big prize. I’d mention that he does need luck so that Di Maria would stay healthy for the whole tournament for once, and (this part I’d whisper) Higuain would get injured right before the final (not a career-ending injury but severe enough to keep him out of the match.)
main-qimg-26d89dcef5c94ad4fc7bc0752168544b-c.jpg
Then, I’d move to the next table and have a chat with Roberto Baggio. I’d tell him that I celebrated, as a Brazil fan, when he skied that fateful penalty. But then, as I learned more about him, I turned from an anti-fan to a fan, and cried his name out loud every time Del Piero missed another clear chance in the 1998’s quarterfinal against France. I’d tell him how much I hated Maldini for denying him that chance for redemption. He’d tell me, with an air of Buddhism-infused serenity, that it didn’t matter. Then we’d just sit there reflecting about the choices we’ve made in our lives before quietly saying good bye.

main-qimg-8c963ebb6ed308568656db37b50c2836-c.jpg

And finally, I’d go to sit with Francesco Totti. Here’s a World Cup winner rather than a losing finalist. But we won’t talk about that. We’d talk about his club career. I’d thank him for his loyalty to Roma, despite winning far less than he deserved to by doing so. He would tell me he doesn’t need my thank, because for him Roma is love, Roma is life. We’d talk a bit about the painful decade where we were runners-up 7 times without ever winning. We’d then talk about the happier year when we won the Scudetto, and the year when he moved to the forward line, immediately became Europe’s top goalscorer and created the position later immortalized by the first guy I met today: the False-9. I’d then thank him for a long and wonder-filled career and tell him that I’d probably cry when he hang his boots after this season. As the sun rises, we’d part and I’d ask him for one last wonder: score that one goal to become the oldest goalscorer in the Europa League (he’s already the oldest goalscorer in the Champion League with his wonder-strike against Manchester City.)
.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61