You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wild Foraging Acorns

in #foraging6 years ago

Very informative! I've wondered how to process them. We have several oak trees in our creek. It's filled with wild edibles. My favorite is the black walnut but they're impossible to process. Haven't tried acorns yet. I wonder if they can be added to homemade wine or Mead for their tannin. I have a lb of hazelnuts in the freezer right now. Hoping to sprout them in the spring. They're a Missouri native. The Missouri department of conservation was sold out apparently because the squirrels got half their nuts :-P

Sort:  

I haven't made wine years. It is not a good thing for Diabetics to drink, so I really don't know anything about using them in wine. However, I saw a few websites specifically talking about acorns and wine when I was fact checking this article. I'd try Google and include both acorn and wine in your search term.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91