Sort:  

Thank you very much! I saw your name the other day and wonder if that is Trucklife as in Truckers Life? I ask only because my husband was a trucker and I drove for about a year myself.

No not really we live in truck which we have been converting into our home. we were mobile but our engine needs some work and we are currently on a piece of land until we can finance that, but between converting and mechanics it's a wee bit expensive so we wait patiently. We are lucky where we are though. I hope to get my truck license one day, my partner has done all the driving up until now. How did you find the driving?

I am not sure if you are in the USA or not, but that is the only experience I have had. I did not like being on the truck. It is not good for your health. It is far too much sitting and far too much stress. Access to food is horrible leaving little choice but fast food or eating out of cans while on the road. Schedules are so tight there is little time to exercise and often hard to find time to go to the bathroom. This makes truckers VERY prone to blood clots in the legs and heart attacks. That is how my husband died. He thought the pain in his leg was his knee giving him problems again, but it was a massive blood clot and when it broke lose, his heart stopped and they could not restart it. People don't realize that almost everything they own and every bite of food they eat depends on truckers, but it is a horrible job with lousy pay for the majority of them. There are a few jobs that allow you to run legal and pay decently, but they are hard to find and harder to keep.

We were married over 25 years and his bring home pay after taxes, insurance, etc., etc., was about 40% less when he died than it was when we married. Like every other business, when the CEO wants a bonus or a pay raise, it is the people that do the hard work that get cut short.

No I'm not in the U.S, We're currently in Spain. I always imagined it would be a tough life being a trucker. I'm real sorry to hear about your husband.
For us the truck is our home and allows us to move about and see new places and meet new people. It's true what you say about people not being aware where their food comes from, it's really a profession that is over looked. I hope you have a very happy end of year and a great start to 2018.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88