Fortnite Log [Week 12]

in #fortnite6 years ago

I’m finally getting back in the rhythm of things after my long hiatus due to travel and event-based work. I honestly thought I’d be putting Fortnite away for a while, as I’ve been meaning to dive a bit deeper into Divinity: Original Sin, which I bought almost a year ago, and in anticipation of this month’s Read Dead Redemption 2. But, as always with great games, I got that itch and jumped back in.

I managed to slam several hours in over the weekend with good results. Another solo win and my first duo win with @twotoedsloth. My building and reaction speeds are noticeably higher, and I feel overall more confident taking on engagements, particularly when the other player is evidently more skilled. I still don’t think I’ll be putting in nearly as much time this season as I did last while training through the basics, but I like the idea of committing to incremental growth over the long period of time and maintaining a new skillset.

My priorities will thus be focused on less tangible results that will hopefully have a statistically consequential impact. I believe that my play is starting to get to the point where my mental game is having more of a significant impact than my technical skill. I can feel getting nervous when I spot a ‘better’ player or making rash, panic-based decisions when I’m in a touch spot. A part of it is simple experience, and the other is making precise attempts to self-coach for a similar future scenario. Getting into the right mental mode to pursue the following is a big personal goal for the coming weeks -

Aggro, Full-Send, No Fear


Hesitating is probably the biggest factor that leads to defeat in Fortnite. Waiting to act is very overrated and I should get in the mode of constantly being proactive. This doesn’t mean always pushing, but also includes constantly scoping, repositioning, pressuring, and all-around being in a more confident spot compared to the enemy.

The seeming opposite is also true here - disengaging. If you think you can’t grab the upper hand in a particular spot or against a particular opponent, it’s best to detach and reengage under better conditions. Fortnite is all about incremental upper-hands and any disadvantage can snowball into a bad spot and ultimate loss.

Instincts


Instant 1-by-1 turtles, speedy 90s, and fast weapon swaps are all muscle-memory tactics that should be 2nd-nature to a solid player. I need to get better at relying on these basics without even thinking and as an immediate reaction to any new element to the game. I’ll be sure to do more drills in solos and playgrounds to get into this mindset and never let anyone catch me off-guard.


That's all from me this week. Steem on!

Sort:  

I recently started to play Fortnite on PS4 and well and still have the panic reactions you discribe. I hope to get that under control with more experience.

Posted using Partiko Android

Let's play sometime Tarek!

Yes definitely! I will ping you my username once I got a bit better.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @hansikhouse! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 31000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 32000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This is mostly a criticism on my own gameplay, but it is important not to risk early-game 50-50s, especially in duos. We would win more if I wasn't playing so aggressive... haha

Hi @hansikhouse!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.587 which ranks you at #515 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #48.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @hansikhouse! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @hansikhouse! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 31000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @hansikhouse! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 32000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 33000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Dear @hansikhouse

I just decided to visit your profile and check out your latest content only to notice that you didn't blog in quite a while already.

Hope you didn't give up completely on Steemit?

Cheers, Piotr


@hansikhouse, sorry to see you have less Steem Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Minnow!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63042.71
ETH 3175.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81