Fossil turtle collected from my ranchsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fossils5 years ago

Here's a nice fossil turtle that was collected from my ranch in Nebraska. It measures about a foot in length

White River Badlands Turtle Ground to Display.jpg

Here's a picture of how I initially found it. You can see a small portion of the turtle starting to expose here.
White River Badlands Turtle Ground to Display12.jpg

Here's a picture of it when I had it completely dug out and read for the plaster jacket.
White River Badlands Turtle Ground to Display13.jpg

Sort:  

That is very cool! What is a plaster jacket?

A protective covering of plaster places around the fossil to help protect it for final removal and transport. I'll do a post about it in a few days

Thanks! That will be interesting to see!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05