Fox Tales – Week #31 – @vermillionfox

in #foxtales5 years ago (edited)

Fox Tales.jpeg
Image Credit @vermillionfox

From @vermillionfox’s writing contest. For more information please see the link:
https://steemit.com/contest/@vermillionfox/fox-tales-wk-31-announcing-contest-winners-and-a-new-story-image

My Entry:

A skull within the grasp of my hand yet so far from my comprehension. This skull you see did not originate from Earth. It had been found in a meteorite in the Arizona desert by a traveling salesman who’d stopped to rest. He killed himself a year later. His wife wanted nothing to do with it and found a customer of her husband’s eager to take the curiosity, and he paid a good sum. Only the same fate awaited him as well. Some madness lingered in the skull perhaps as it continued to exchange hands before finding itself in this strange land and into my possession; delivered in a small box with a bow to my curiosity shop with a reputation. No doubt, I approached the object of people’s obsession with great caution. At first only taking glimpses at it, never touching it, wondering what had driven the previous owners of this strange skull to take their own life. I have to admit there were many sleepless nights with it placed on a shelf in my shop still in the box. I didn’t dare take it home. Somehow it always seemed to capture my attention with no clue as to its disposition. Until today, when I’d finally had enough, and I’d decided to hold the skull in order to understand it more. Only the mystery became solved as soon as my hand touched the skull as some far away voice echoed in my mind with this odd greeting: ‘You’ve found my skull, now follow my commands as I instruct you on how to kill yourself.’

Thank you,
Cyrus Emerson

Also, available from the Author:

Fear and Loathing in the State of Jefferson - ebook
https://read.amazon.com/kp/embed?asin=B079R5KLPN&preview=newtab&linkCode=kpe&ref_=cm_sw_r_kb_dp_GsURAbAVDYNEM

Lost Angel – Introduction with Ray Manzarek of The Doors
https://www.downpour.com/lost-angel?sp=249812

Red Roses - audiobook
https://www.audible.com/pd/Fiction/Red-Roses-Audiobook/B07F2LWHPN

Sort:  

I hope you don't follow that final command. Good write up. :-)

Nice. Glad you tweeked the last line. Looking forward to the new ebook.

This post has been found valuable and upvoted by El surtidor


This post got an extra 5 power for following us

Follow @elsurtidor to get biggest votes in your next posts

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cyemela from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow! This story really had me hooked. It also reminded me of all the creepy horror manga that I’ve read where you’re quickly flipping through the pages waiting for the big climax. Well done. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45