Faults

in #foxtales5 years ago (edited)

My husband had been in the house since that day. The day everyone wished never came.He would sit on his wooden chair made of straws and plywood in our bedroom. He tucked a cushion to make it more comfortable when he finished it. He and our son;Ken, had made it.He would be 9 this year. He sits with his two arms on each other, resting deadly on his upper tummy. His legs were outstretched and also crossed. His schedule was eating when I fed him, using the restroom when he wants to go, sleeping and back to his sitting. All these he did with his arms still laid across his stomach. He doesn't talk to me but he nods when I do and breathes heavily at intervals. I bring in wet towel to clean since he refused bathing. Sometimes I feel like he's sliping into a coma because he wouldn't notice me in front of him for hours. I cried in my kitchen. That was my sanctuary. And then I thought about the ugly day it all happened; ken was in his room playing and we were downstairs watching the TV. Until we heard a loud bang from our bedroom. We both stared at each other in shock, praying it wasn't what we knew it was. We both stood up at the same time and ran upstairs. In the pool of his blood, lies our only son with his father's pistol. Mark lost his voice at the moment while I screamed and weeped. He touched his son's blood and stared at it. He said it was his fault. I knew he wasn't at fault, ken must have found out where he hide his pistol in the house. Mark had been very careful since he got one. I knew because even I didn't know what he kept it. My husband became dead even though he was still alive, and only dead ken could bring him out of this

image

The drawing belongs to @vermillionfox. And this is my entry for the #foxtales contest by @vermillionfox. Click on the link below for the contest post.

https://steemit.com/contest/@vermillionfox/fox-tales-wk-37-announcing-contest-winners-and-a-new-story-image

Sort:  

This story brings me such deep sadness. What a terrible loss for all.

Posted using Partiko Android

How tragic, to lose her son and essentially lose her husband as well .

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Such a sad tale. A child discovering a dangerous weapon is probably one of my biggest fears as a parent. Even more so with this warped perception of reality. I blame video games.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85