Happy soul

in #foxtales5 years ago (edited)

Mama was the sun, she radiates with love. Mama was the rain,she flushes with warmth. Mama was beauty; a single mother at 55 getting advances from men my age. Mama works,cooks and tells the best stories. She wanted to be a scriptwriter but she's a cook. She insists they are both great.At 27,Mama gave me her golden bracelet, it was from her father who died before I was born. Mama's got a wild knowledge on all topics, so we talk about everything save my father; I was a child born of rape. Mama didn't tell me that. Mama was happy with our life. We're not rich. We're not poor either.Mama got cancer. She hid it from me. She did it well. I was a surgical intern preparing for my final exams to be a resident. Mama had begged the Dr. Not to say.I found out, the drugs , the files, the chemo. Every morning she places a kiss on my head and my cheeks, keeping her secret to myself hurts my soul,it wasn't the first secret i had found out, but this was taking Mama away from me. Mama was happy. Mama liked 'happy'. It had to stay that way until she was ready.

Written for @vermillionfox #foxtales
c3uu9c1seo.jpg

Picture source: @vermillionfox

Sort:  



This post has been manually selected, curated and upvoted by CI mod staff team. Supporting all posts that are in high quality and don’t get enough recognition.



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was voted: 100%

Congratulations @wems! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.
You made more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

She sounds like a really good mom, not letting her illness change the daughter's life until it must. Staying happy. So important!
I like this story a lot.

I like that you like it.Thanks for dropping by. I wanted my main character full of life no matter whatever shit the world throws at her. I don't know if I am gonna kill her in the end. If I do, it would be a memorable burial, one filled with people leaving the moment rather than wallowing in mourning.

Oh, this really packs a punch! Single mother, still so attractive, young-looking, and deliberately happy, she gets men half her age making advances; then comes the first punch, * we talk about everything save my father; I was a child born of rape. Mama didn't tell me that.* Then the double whammy: Mama was happy with our life. We're not rich. We're not poor either. Mama got cancer. She hid it from me. Then, it wasn't the first secret i had found out, but this was taking Mama away from me. Mama was happy. Mama liked 'happy'. It had to stay that way until she was ready. You don't say if she survived the cancer, but one word choice, the consistent "was," conveys the loss. Maybe this is only a fiction, but it has the ring of authenticity. A powerful freewrite - short but packed full of meaning. Well done. (I love your mother, even if this is "only fiction".)

I love when you drop your opinion on my post. Thanks a bunch.
And yes it's a fiction. I have been reading too much about cancer recently, I guess that's why my write up slipped to something about it.😀

Oh...

Wems... Oh... 🔥

Are you about to sing?😛

Wonderful story! It goes along with this weeks image so well! The girl looking away does seem like she’s holding onto her mother’s secret.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13