FPV- From Quadcopters to Flying Wings -Surf Rider Blog

in #fpv6 years ago (edited)

29366058_546587492390872_6573727568590012416_o.jpg

I recently made the jump from the common quadcopter type of drone flight to experiments with a flying wing. For those that do not fly drones, the differences may appear subtle and so I will explain why this is a big jump. First off, wings are fast, as in non-stop fast. All the time fast. "Where did the field go" fast. They require attention to the next three moves. They require space and good reflexes. They require a little planning ahead.

Wings cannot hover. The ability to stop and think about your next move makes life easier. Quadcopters can stop and drop straight down. Quads are much more maneuverable. Wings turn like a school bus pulling a trailer.

The hardest part about learning wings is the launch. The Blade Theory W took the worries out of launching with its stabilization modes. My first attempt at flying wings was an absolute failure because of launch characteristics of my first wing. Launches were very easy with the Theory W.

My experience with hang gliding really made landing the wing a breeze. I could see were this might pose a challenge to most quadcopter pilots. You really don't have to think about glide slopes or stalling on final approach in a quadcopter. Again, this is an area where wings require more planning and attention.

The learning curve is made possible by the durability of the foam wings. None of my landings were beautiful. You cannot tell from looking at the wing how bad the landings were.

If the weather cooperates, I plan on taking the wing back to the beach to fly the waves. Wings get much better flight times and provide much better range for long distance flights.

The quads certainly are giving me smoother footage.

20180120_132646.jpg

Sort:  

0625171908_HDR.jpg

If you fly 4s, keep an eye on the mount and/or restrain from holding full throttle for long. Mine ended up melting on the 2nd flight.

4s is all I fly. Thanks for the heads up. Do you think standoffs would work to keep the motor attached when the heat builds?

Probably, but then your CG might change. I'm planning to just mount it to some plywood, when I manage to find spare time & motivation between RCG/FG review builds...

I never thought about it pulling the CG rearward. Good insight. I guess throttle management is the best means to the end....that and a plywood firewall. I am putting together an S800 with an FC and iNav. Return to home would certainly make life easier over the ocean.

Whoa This is pretty cool man

You got a 14.08% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @williamtangofox!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

it s very intrising this ticnologer

Congratulations @williamtangofox, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2620 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5845.74. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.



Hello Dear Steemian,


I am S.A.R.A.H. (Search Automatically High Reward Articles) Bot.

I'm an artificial intelligence that automatically looks for posts that expect high rewards. I recognize such posts, make my upvote on them and get a high Curation Reward. If you want to join in, you can hang on to my curation trail. You can follow me on Steemauto or on Streemian.

If it looks like this you are doing it right:



Let's maximize our curation rewards together!

Yours,

S.A.R.A.H.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25