Multiplanar Differential Rotor (+process)

in #fractal6 years ago


Oh yeah baby, it's differential!

After a bit of warm-up with JWildFire, I regained my confidence; I designed this Rotor that can tap into power sources from multiple planes of existence, and convert the difference of their output into energy. Sure, it works fine, as you can see the central power outlet is charged up normally and ready to go!
(Everything made in JWildFire by me, no post-work at all. Details and process below.)


Rotor 03 Q300 A2.jpg

Multiplanar Differential Rotor

by @nyarlathotep



Details:


Rotor 03 Q300 A2_cr1.jpg

Rotor 03 Q300 A2_cr2.jpg

Process:


I started with a "Julian" and 4 "Log" transformations, positioned above, below, left & right of the Julian shape; the central piece was given more weight (1 vs 0.5 of the 4 "logs") to make it more prominent.

One more transformation combining "loonie" & "idisc" added a nice twist to the boring original.
02-Rotor 00 q300.jpg

I added some background color to the lower part of the image and changed the lower transformation from a single "log" to a combination of "log" & "rays", with "rays" being 6 times more prominent than "log". Also, the scattered dots seemed like a nice touch (it's a variation named "sunflower"). Now, you can see the elongated mechanical gear-like shapes to the 3 directions (up, left, right) that triggered the Rotors in my imagination.
Rotor 01 Q1000.jpg

I wanted something more powerful for the central piece and tried out some variations until I settled with "sunvoronoi" instead of the previous simple curve.
Rotor 02 Q300.jpg

For the final stages of refinement, I added a variation to each the 3 "logs" and combined them for a more complex effect. The bottom transformation was also changed to appear less abstract and more star-shaped. Well, the rotor shapes were gone at this stage, but their impression remained!
Rotor 03 q50.png

And here is the list of all the transformations and the variations used. I can post the .xml file too, if anyone cares to see it.

Sort:  

This is something new to me. Incredible artwork! :)

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

lolwat?


You did not even "subscribe" to me, how can it be "reciprocal"?

The_commentphant.jpg

Congratulations @nyarlathotep! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60