You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FREE, INDESTRUCTIBLE, INTERCHANGEABLE RAISED BEDS

in #free5 years ago

I was following a uTuber and mentioned this idea to him. He was concerned about slugs. But, I told him there would probably be easy ways to solve the slug problem and using all the rocks he was stacking up would solve the problem of what to do with them.

I need to remember who that was and see if he made progress on his homestead.

Sort:  

Interesting. I hadn't had any slug issues last years.

Grind egg shells into a powder and spread it in the bed. It will stick to the slugs and they will not be able to move, thus dying.

I did a search. The guy's channel is Off Grid Build. Looks like he hasn't posted anything in 7 months. He was doing regular videos, but I guess life happened. So, I don't know if he went through with using the rocks for raised beds. I think I made the comment on one of his videos from 2 years ago. Being in NY, he might have more slugs than you do.

https://www.youtube.com/user/offthegridbuild

Anyway, I always thought that if you have the rocks lying around, it would be a better method than using wood.

You might get a few slugs but the rocks would create good homes for the critters that eat the slugs too. I have found that the first year after adding mulch, rocks, wood, etc. I tend to see some slugs but then I start to see a lot of black ground beetles, centipedes, and garter snakes. All of those critters eat slugs or their eggs. The result has been less slugs where I add those natural features compared to areas where I have not. I'm in western WA - we have tons of slugs over here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84