Hacking Vending Machines for Free Drinks

in #free5 years ago

Disclaimer: don’t steal this is for education only ;)

Ok so a little bit of a story first. The last few days I’ve missed my bus and made friends with another guy who missed the same bus. Of course I brought up hacking and blockchain(all the nerd stuff ya know) and then he asked me if it was possible to hack a vending machine. I thought about and was like “you know what? Let’s heckin try it” So now I’m pumped because I found another guy who’s kinda interested in hacking.
While we were on the bus I grabbed his phone number using a raspberry pi I keep hooked up in my backpack (connected to my mobile hotspot for ssh access) and sent him a long list of articles on vending machine hacking.
Seen here:
https://tag.wonderhowto.com/hack-a-modern-vending-machine/

The jist if vending machine hacking if you’re like me and are to lazy to read a list of articles is too find a code that is used for testing the machine. Most models have a debug menu which can be accessed by pressing 4-3-2-1 or on some 5-4-3-2-1. From here you can then get machine information or if you’re lucky get free drinks straight from this menu here or at least get a model number for the machine.
Some vending machines have certain codes that will allow you to get a free drink as a test to make sure that it works. With a model number you can find the owners manual online and then find the correct code from there.
Another technique that can be used for free drinks is to hold the flap up where you are supposed to pick up your drinks. Certain machines don’t actually charge the money until after the drink passes a laser or hits the bottom of the machine allowing you too get your money back through the “return change button”

Sort:  

Congratulations @lampsdad! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66