You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How did you first respond to the message of freedom?

in #freedom6 years ago

I also was a punk growing up rebelling against popular culture and authorities. My older next door neighbor was always trashing pop music which led me to start broadening my musical horizons. I discovered a few bands such as Guttermouth and Anti-Flag while also discovering skateboarding. The seed had been planted, but it took quite a long time for the seed to sprout and grow.

I was very anti-authority when it came to teachers, principles, business owners, and cops because of skateboarding. I had a hard time shaking the nationalism and militarism though.

I found Ron Paul after a co-worker had recommended I watch Zeitgeist and America - From Freedom To Fascism. Ron Paul was the only politician who made sense to me. Thus began my real dive down the rabbit hole.

While preparing to sleep on the floor in an old farmhouse, with a bunch of other Ron Paul delegates for the MN state Convention in 2012, one of my new friends mentioned this crazy Adam Kokesh guy. He might be a little crazy for my tastes I was told. So of course, I had to look him up.

I began listening to Adam VS The Man and watching the associated youtube videos. It took a few months to get the statist out of me, but Adam guided the way.

The message of Freedom has meant a lot to me and I cannot thank Adam enough! Anarchy, Love, and Peace to you!

Sort:  

Thanks for the great comment! "Die For Your Government!" was very influential for me. Still one of my all time favorite songs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59328.31
ETH 2997.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79