Freedom and Worship:The Currency of Attention and Time

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)

25550336_10215030414144135_618677447315414407_n.jpg

Good Day Steemians!

It's Friday and its been a long and very exhausting week. Its been the kind of week that requires frequent episodes of focused mindfulness and a purposeful centring of myself in the "here and now". I have grown to see the importance of being in a state of wakefulness and being aware of the kinds of things I think about. Granted, being in this heightened state of awareness is easier some days as compared to others and I certainly don't claim to always be successful. Somedays I fail, and if I'm honest, I fail miserably. This work, however, gives rise to what I believe are our most important and powerful forms of currency: time and attention. The fiat currency and cryptocurrency pale in comparison to the revolutionary power of our time and attention.

Time and attention are powerful forms of currency although we may not often think of them in those terms but it is important that we begin to do so. There is power to what we give our time and attention to as these things ultimately grow and start to shape how we see the world. So, I ask what do you allow to consume your time and energy?In a sense, what we allow to consume us is inevitably what we end up worshiping. David Foster Wallace in a brilliant keynote address once said the following words:

"Because here's something else that's true. In the day-to-day trenches of adult life, there is actually no such thing as atheism. There is no such thing as not worshipping. Everybody worships. The only choice we get is what to worship. And an outstanding reason for choosing some sort of God or spiritual-type thing to worship-be it J.C. or Allah, be it Yahweh or the Wiccan mother-goddess or the Four Noble Truths or some infrangible set of ethical principles-is that pretty much anything else you worship will eat you alive. If you worship money and things-if they are where you tap real meaning in life-then you will never have enough. Never feel you have enough. It's the truth. Worship your own body and beauty and sexual allure and you will always feel ugly, and when time and age start showing, you will die a million deaths before they finally plant you. On one level, we all know this stuff already-it's been codified as myths, proverbs, clichés, bromides, epigrams, parables: the skeleton of every great story. The trick is keeping the truth up-front in daily consciousness. Worship power-you will feel weak and afraid, and you will need ever more power over others to keep the fear at bay. Worship your intellect, being seen as smart-you will end up feeling stupid, a fraud, always on the verge of being found out. And so on.

Look, the insidious thing about these forms of worship is not that they're evil or sinful; it is that they are unconscious. They are default-settings. They're the kind of worship you just gradually slip into, day after day, getting more and more selective about what you see and how you measure value without ever being fully aware that that's what you're doing. And the world will not discourage you from operating on your default-settings, because the world of men and money and power hums along quite nicely on the fuel of fear and contempt and frustration and craving and the worship of self. Our own present culture has harnessed these forces in ways that have yielded extraordinary wealth and comfort and personal freedom. The freedom to be lords of our own tiny skull-sized kingdoms, alone at the center of all creation. This kind of freedom has much to recommend it. But of course there are all different kinds of freedom, and the kind that is most precious you will not hear much talked about in the great outside world of winning and achieving and displaying. The really important kind of freedom involves attention, and awareness, and discipline, and effort, and being able truly to care about other people and to sacrifice for them, over and over, in myriad petty little unsexy ways, every day. That is real freedom. The alternative is unconsciousness, the default-setting, the "rat race"-the constant gnawing sense of having had and lost some infinite thing."(1)~David Foster Wallace

Worship is not something reserved for church or the seemingly holy and pious. It is something we unconsciously and consciously do everyday. I hope that in today's uncertainty, social and political upheaval we will start to see how valuable our attention and what we choose to pay attention to, is. This choice of where to place our attention is the only sense to which we are radically free. Jean-Paul Sartre once claimed that "Man is condemned to be free; because once thrown into the world, he is responsible for everything he does." What we choose now will have consequences in the future (not just for ourselves but for humanity as a whole). Choosing is a revolutionary act. Knowing this I ask: How will you worship today for a better tomorrow?

(1)
David Foster Wallace: This is Water

Sort:  

Hey @kobiespriggs,

This is dog is so beautiful but you are more beautiful than this dog:)

He's a special little guy. :)

YESSS!!! punches the air!!! Time and attention are the true currency (the current sea...the vast oceans in which we collectively swim) and focused awareness is losing out to people's inability to remain engaged for more than a few measly seconds at a time!

It's one of the reasons I love steemit...you can dive deeper, swimming amongst intelligent fishes, learn more and share less in the shallows and more about the things that really matter. Like kindness, consciousness and human connection.

Resteemed, upvoted and you have gained a new follower! Thanks so much for the refreshing and reinvigorating conversation❤️

Thank you for reading and commenting! :)

Ikr?! Same here. You just got a new follower, too! @lilygolightly <3

Thanks @intspekt...so did you! Kindness should always be reciprocated💚

I've seen that video before! Great pic too - your best of the week. I know you gonna love my new profile quote BTW :)

Hegel, le sacre monstre!!

Well, being not understood enables one to be above attack if the person doesnt even know what they are attacking. :P

That sounds like the 99% of the French that called him that!

Right, 'how will I worship today for a better tomorrow?'

Thanks for the reminder about default-settings. That's been relevant to me lately. It's relevant all the time, but especially lately, considering the circumstances.

Great post. I'm just jealous you got to this before I could, you rascal! Smert. Smert & insightful. And pretty too...geez.

Oh wow!!Thank you! I listen to this speech often. It reminds me of what's real and in front of me. He is amazing. Oh gosh. Thank you for the feedback! My little dog was a rescue. When I got him. I didn't think he would live six months he was such a mess. Twelve years later.... He's still here. :)

I know. I've listened to it so many times.

Every time it leaves me saying, "wow", just wow. And then I think...to have only been there. Those were some lucky graduates. Probably the realest commencement speech ever. I haven't heard that many, so don't hold me to that lol, but it impressed me, for sure.

And then, my final thought is always, what a shame what became of him in the end. He was very aware, probably too aware. Definitely a little ahead of his time. I think he saw what kind of future we were racing into.

And now, we are very much there, but we also have great things like this site. This kind of virtual inter-connectedness. This ocean of a fish pond. This ocean connecting so many cultural islands. I guess there's always some good and some bad.

And that's so sweet about your puppy. Twelve years, how lucky for you and him. :)

(I swear, I can't seem to stay off this site. I find something so neat everyday. Only been here about a week lol. Really loving it so far. I'll make sure and comment whenever you post new stuff. I'll come around and check, and share. A pleasure meeting you today.)

Awesome! Yes, it is a shame what happened to him. It is a shame what happens to many of us. Conditions are poor and I sometimes wonder if they are designed purposefully to be so.

Yes. Steemit is an interesting place and to see so many different people with so many different interests is great. I joined in April of 2017 but took a long hiatus when my computer crashed and I had trouble with my password. I was only on a few months before that happened and just came back last month. I have followed you are well. I am sure we will touch base again here soon. :)

I haven't even read this yet...but you quoted his speech! I love that speech! Ugh, now I need to go read Infinite Jest. Brb to comment once I'm done lolol. I know for sure that's going to take a while. Also, also, you have perfect teeth #1, and #2 your eyes look unreal. Beautimus! Your dog's cute too, btw. I've met some of the neatest people on here. Welcome to the club. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61511.66
ETH 2989.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63