You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How did you first respond to the message of freedom?

in #freedom6 years ago

When I was in High School I was a Communist. At least I said I was. I really just liked the shock value. Once I read something about it I decided I was not. When I was deciding to vote in my first election a friend of mine said, “you should check out the Libertarians, they want to legalize pot.” I was sold and voted a straight Libertarian ticket, except president. I didn’t want to “waste" my presidential vote so I voted for Bill Clinton. After that I did not really care about anything political until September 11th 2001. Those planes hitting those buildings scared the shit out of me. I had 2 children at the time and I fell for the fear tactics hook line and sinker. I became a Neo-Con. I had always been fiscally conservative. Now I was terrified and bought into the nationalistic bullshit that I heard all over the radio every day. I also had always been quite liberal when it came to social issues and I was far from Christian in my religious beliefs, but I put that aside and followed the Republican line. I then remarried. Amber my wife is a Libertarian. Going into the 2012 elections I was a Michelle Bachman supporter, I know. My wife liked the old guy on the stage. So, I listened to all of them and slowly the old guy, Ron Paul, crept up my favorites list. It was easy to agree with him on many things for me. Truthfully it was his position on the Fed that really caught my attention. The final piece was war. I remember the day I realized I had been duped. I cried into my wife's shoulder as guilt turned to anger. How could I be so dumb. You see I read a lot and I liked people such as Thomas Jefferson, Patrick Henry, and John Locke. I became a local warrior for Ron Paul and began working for a local candidate for the house who supported Dr. Paul. I read Mises, Rothbard… you get the idea. After both Ron Paul and my candidate lost and my wife and I saw first hand the corruption in the Gop, I decided to not deal with politics at all. I continued to evolve first into a minarchist and eventually into an anarchist. In 2016 I told my wife, while watching a video on youtube of this guy I had discovered and began following in 2012, that I would only vote again if that guy ran for president. I never expected that I would meet him about a year later as he was preparing to run for president. That man was Adam Kokesh. Now I am working for his campaign and doing my part to share the message. Meeting him was better than I expected. I expected him to be full of himself. He was not. He was about Freedom and he inspired me to join the new American Evolution.

Sort:  

Thanks, brother! You're very lucky to have woken up in such a way that you were able to have that cathartic emotional experience. It speaks to your willingness to admit when you're wrong even when you're not fully emotionally prepared for it.

I do not think there is any freedom in the world.. And there is no democracy either.There are rules on which we live and which the government dictates... And so it is in the whole world!

ордо.jpg

Freedom must be found inside, then no government can chain you. I am free.

I do not deny!Simply I speak as in a life happens..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72