One Year "Under Occupation Anniversary!" - Living Free - Squat The World!

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)

pirate.GIF

Its been now one full year since I found "The Cabin"..

I like to live since 9 years for free. I quit the life of slavery - the paying to live bullsh*t. Since then I have lived in many places without paying any rent, from caravans to caves and this week at the beginning of August, is our one year of squatting a cabin in Oslo, Norway. We have never met the owner, and I don't think they even know that we are here. The place was empty for many years and has no water or full time electric plus it had quiet a bit of damage and so nobody wanted to live here. Myself and a South-African guy (@wonderingcronus) have been occupying places in Oslo for the last year and half of which I have documented all on here to show people how the freaks are living in paradise after deciding to "Do It Ourselves" with life, sacrificing certain "home comforts" in order to keep our freedom.
I did a post about occupying a property found Here if you haven't ever heard of people doing it before. There is also a Website for squatting information and locations!


One year on and much has changed, if the owners ever came back they would not even recognize the place one bit, if we ever got evicted im sure we can charge for the building materials of 8000 euro and another 8000 euro At least for the work done on it :)

This is how it looked upon my arrival..

cabin old stairs.jpgcabin old side.jpg
cabin old.jpg

cabin old inside.jpg

Feel very free to see the renovation that we decided to do (without the use of electric, or a car to use) and with just the minimum tools. Here are the 4 stages of the renovation - First part. - Second Part - Third Part. - And The Finaleeeey!


So it went from this Above to how it looks Now... Here's a tour for you lot!

The Lounge

P1040555.JPG

The Lounge. We still need a futon or mattress for the raised sofa area, we found the white stiropor\polisyrene sheets but they are too warm to sit on, will be nice in the winter time though.

P1040556.JPG

The Kitchen

P1040533.JPG

P1040534.JPG

My Bedroom

P1040557.JPG

P1040559.JPG

The outside!

The outside has changed a lot since @rotfuchs arrived! I got them an instant account and introduced them to Steemit, mainly the @actifit app firstly as we are active people and free thinkers :)
I have created several accounts for other people but actually none of them have started to use it yet! Around five I believe already. I'm very happy to get anyone an instant account if they are interested. We must promote Steemit ourselves, you tell one person, they will tell 2 (hopefully!) I had a very pleasant surprise message on my very un-active fakebook account from @seileren, "hey come find me on steemit, I have an account!"
This guy is a Legend, only met him for a day or two when I also met @kyma and got him an instant count that day.


The work from @rotfuchs - Thankyou!

P1040547.JPG P1040554.JPGP1040538.JPG

I got a bow saw finally to cut trees with, and it was long over due that this overgrown stretching tree had to be cut down.

The Subject.. (the one bending over)

P1040510.JPG

The whole tree from the other side, down the slope..

P1040512.JPG

The Tools.. (Couldn't find my hammer so the crow bar sufficed and a skinning axe came in handy!)

P1040513.JPG

Luckily I found some Elbow Grease or it would have been hard work!


Disclaimer - I have no training for this..

First cut..

She was really stubborn even after cutting through much more than half way, it seemed the tree had grown in complete upright balance, even though it was bending. I needed it to fall away from the cabin so to the opposite direction of its stretching attempts to get more light. It happens like that sometimes, strange but true!


Its raining LOTS! Now its the evening and these photos were all taken earlier in the day..

Trees! still more to take down. And more that are already fallen, or even worse, one that has had a washing line tied around it many years ago and has now been killed..

P1040239.JPG

P1040551.JPG

These ones were topped by a friend who is a profi tree surgeon before the winter..

P1040552.JPG

Heres the stream that was dry but in the morning it will be flowing again. It was really close to completely running out today, which would mean having to go get water from the near empty well!
The pot was found with mouldy burnt food inside and I guess theres so much money here its easier to buy a new one than to clean it, I just left it out over winter and it cleaned itself!
P1040549.JPG

P1040550.JPG

Finally an official Compost! I found this old bin in the foresty land around here, very good dog proof compost!

P1040544.JPG

Oh yes, the next is to do a new compost toilet!

Here is one wall, I have enough wood for the other side wall and the rest ill have to use something else.
it will be a spacious toilet!

I have an electric toilet that don't use much energy, that was also found and it works!


Well, I hope you enjoyed the anniversary tour of a squat in Norway! If your intrigued at this way of living then I thought to leave you links to older posts, explaining more why I do it. For example two I wrote in my early days of Steemit..

Im shattered! I wonder when the squatting scene will catch on to steemit, then there will be a whole new steemian race created! That will get interesting for sure!!

Hoping to bump into your grow journals on the #cannabis-collective or #canna-curate tags!

canacurate new banner.png

sugar cocain.jpg
Untitled.png

Nice to put a "face" to a name!

oslo trainstation.jpg

Big love! @movingman

Sort:  

Hello there! Inspiring story! I wish I'd be as brave as you and do incredible things like squatting in a cabin in Norway. Damn dude, that is just amazing with what you did with the cabin. Awesome renovation. And your cute dog, hmm what type of dog is he/her? I have 4 adopted dogs back home. They are being taken care of my mom and my cousin while I'm away backpacking in the US. I wish I have the courage to do things like you did with your friends. I haven't been to Europe but it's on my bucket list. I see that you also smoke weed. I was introduced to it recently and I'm loving it! You got a new follower, I was inactive for a long time but I came back to Steemit to share my backpacking stories. Anyways, it's time for bed now. Goodnight!

Hi @pinaynomad! That what im blogging for , to inspire people to try and leave the ratrace if they have already thought about it :) I have two dogs and they are both just street dogs i found in spain when they were puppys..
Backpacking in the USA? that sounds interesting! where are you?
Ah yes I smoke marijuana and I grow for free smoke as its soooo expensive here if you can find it! You will like europe, you can travel 3ookm and be in a completly different country, culture and language, wheres as the USA you have to go 1000 miles to see any difference hahahhaha! Hope you will find time to get telling them backpacking storys? i recently copied a diary on here that I wrote, If your writing diarys, save them to put on here!!

You inspired us indeed. I also blog coz I want to encourage everyone to travel and stay fit. You know MovingMan, I left the rat race 4 years ago. I realized working for someone is not for me, so I left my marketing job and started traveling while working online.

That's so kind of you to adopt cute dogs. I only trust people who are animal lovers. I once date a guy who pretended to love dogs, but when my dog jumped on him, he started to get mad. I ditched him right away.

I'm on my 5th month now here in the US, I'm currently in New Orleans. I will be here for 5 days. Before that I was in California, Nevada, New York, North Carolina and Mississippi. Next month I will be back in the Philippines and take care of my grandparents. They have cancer. So I really have to be back home to take spend more time with them.

I just smoked marijuana few hours ago when I saw some blog post here about growing cannabis in their backyard. I find it really interesting. If only weed is legal in Asia...

Man, Europe is the bomb. I really need to go there next year. My bestfriend is married to an Italian guy but they are currently living in Cebu, PH. I will definitely go there next year and see Spain, Italy, Norway, Switzerland, Germany and France. I don't have a diary. My blog is my online journal. Keep doing what you're doing. Keep it easy man. 😝

Thats great to heer, 4 years already! It fly's by huh? You should learn about ricksimpson oil, this is a cure for cancer made by with cannabis flowers.
It dont matter if its legal or illegal, this is just a story set by governments.

They Only Come, If You Feel Guilty"! (The police) :)

Nice to see the changes and that you are learning to fall trees. It would be nice for you to get a chainsaw and really get to cut those trees into firewood. And a bosses is nice for light work but need a bigger saw to really get through the big stuff.

Nice work!

Spark up Conversation on Discord

k4.jpg

IMG_20180731_000647.jpg

man this is some awesome stuff... to be able to turn that cabin in to what you have is quite amazing... i am sure if it is anything like Canada with the squatting laws it will take a lot to get you out after a year and all that work.

That sounds good that Canada has relaxed squatting laws :) They are strict here, like we dont bother to occupy property that is owned by the city council, you get evicted very quickly lol. So we can check the owner online and if its private, its a go - we found the foundation of a house in a forest , looked at the plot online and the was even no registered owner for it lol.
Apparently the owners are old freaks anyway so im sure we wouldnt get evicted, maybe only praised from the owners hahahaha.
In norway and sweden I see many many houses open. We have a cabin also which I showed also found here Maybe ill repair that also in the future! Oh and theres a huge house also not far away,the window was smashed so ive gone in and opened the front door, I can check it in winter and if the door isnt locked again, then thats also open! That place even has electric hahahhaa :)

Congrats to you! Time flies when you're having a blast.

Hi coffee guy! Thanks,times flying fast 😁

How's the winter in there?

its very cosy :) I built new walls and ceiling which has 10cm insulation inside of the existing walls with a void in between so we have 30-40cm think walls and a nice wood oven.. last winter it was sometimes 28c inside, way too much hahahhahaha!

That's awesome! What does the temperature drop to over there at the coldest in winter? Here it can reach -35 to -40 degrees Celsius.

It is average -10c at night from my last two winters here, but can get to -18c.. Im in south norway so ots not bad (unless your in a shitty tent lol) walls and ceilings are useful to have in tge dark winter 😂

No doubt. Good job on the reno!

Thankyou mate 😊 im chuffed!

Excellent post. I love the sound of it, living off the grid and growing my own food but I also love my creature comforts too much. I'm a 5* kinda guy.

Hi! Its all about the balance 😊 for me its a very easy decision to have made,theres no way now that I could ever go backwards into the system,it makes us all very sick 😊 ill keep my time for myself and use it how I want instead of giving it away to pay for live,.. Did you ever watch the zeitgeist films?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75