You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 4th of July, from one Veterans eyes.

in #freedom6 years ago

An excellent post which I've resteemed. I'm a decade or two older than you, and I was totally duped by the first Iraq war in the early 1990s. I was living in London at the time, and the media built Saddam Hussein into such a powerful figure of terror that I was seriously expecting his fighter jets to bomb us at any moment. Later on we saw horrific photos of the charred bodies of his troops who had been fired on in their tanks by Daddy Bush's men as they tried to surrender.
I was horrified by 911, but didn't think war was the answer, so I demonstrated with a banner that displayed photos of Bush, Blair and Bin Laden and said "Stop the Warmongers!" Initially there was just a small group of demonstrators, but by 2003 there were millions of us in the UK saying "Not in our name".
But the government ignored us.
I hope future generations are not duped. I think what we need is independence from governments. But that has to be managed in a way that doesn't bring more war, chaos and tyranny.

Sort:  

I am glad that you saw it early on, I wasn't so lucky and was brain washed for a bit before I realized what was truly going on. People like you standing up for what you truly believe in will be what one day will stop these tyrannical governments from continuing their wars and chaos.

You are correct, government needs to go.. Unfortunately way to many people still believe that governments are needed for societies to exist, even though time and time again all it has done is lead humans down the wrong path. People like to think of government as our shepards because we the people are sheep, however the truth is that the government is wolves and we are sheep being manipulated and eaten.
I don't know how this will all unfold but I hope with things like the block chain that we can start to have trustless systems in place instead of politicians who lie through their teeth! Things are changing slowly, hopefully we can still save this world and get rid of these corrupt governments once and for all and allow people to be truly free! Not continue to be duped..

Yes, decentralisation, the blockchain - it all offers hope. Just doing things for ourselves instead of expecting the powers that shouldn't be to do it for us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66