Sort:  

I agree. The reason why is because of Medicare, Medicaid, insurance regulations, and government micromanagement. I wish it were cheaper here, too. The ACA not only fucked the healthcare system, but sends me a bill for opting out of the destruction? What the heck?

It is so bad! I joined Liberty Health Share this year. It is $200/month and has way better coverage than insurance plans, but I had to sign a waiver saying they wouldn't treat my MS. Luckily I treat myself with plant medicines now, so I don't anticipate having any problems.

There are two ways to see this though - Government regulation in Europe is what keeps things affordable for people. Governments bargain with all of the care providers, insurers are non-profits, and pharma is heavily regulated. In less developed nations, costs stay low because insurance isn't a thing (to the extent that it is here), and demand is lower because people have fewer resources. The lack of gv't money going into health makes it so that prices can't inflate.

So, either no government involvement to keep costs down, or high government involvement to keep prices down. What we have is some terrible Frankenstein that just screws all of us over so bad. I hate it so much.

And don't get me started on the FDA, DEA, Pharma trio that has been terrorizing all of us for decades. That actually might be even worse than what they've done with health care services because they actually put people in jail over substances that are known healing compounds while making themselves disgustingly rich.

Don't be ridiculous. Governments don't have to bargain with anyone because there isn't consent in the first place. Furthermore, in the past 30, years, big pharma has produced countless miracles, increased the length of life and quality of life for millions, and saved millions of lives. And I am a firm believer in plant medicines—most of the miracles big pharma produces are synthesized or isolated from plants.

I see where you are coming from, though. Although I think that more government involvement will only make the problem worse. Also, compared to the US, Europe is functionally decentralized, which is another reason why single payer would never work in the US. I'm glad you can see how repealing government regulation might fix our healthcare system, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63935.07
ETH 3138.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87