You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom

in #freedom5 years ago

man, what a story! thanks for sharing; it breaks my heart knowing that people are locked up in such places... and then of course there are their brutal (but sometimes even innocent) crimes.. is this form of punishment the best way to deal with this problem? I have to think of the open prison in Norway on an island. Although I think they are kept there only if they haven't done major crimes

Sort:  

I think I have read about that prison. Sounds very rehabilitative. I have no doubt these two men, and several of the others I saw in that visiting room, would be excellent neighbors and friends. I oppose the death penalty in all cases now. Before this visit, I was not so certain, but men like these must be allowed to live and love. And yes, there are many in prison and even on death row who are innocent! If you are interested I just read a good book "The Sun Does Shine" by Anthony Ray Hinton who was an innocent man on death row for more than 20 years. He, like these two, had horrible representation, criminal representation if you ask me. Thanks for you comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63793.53
ETH 3193.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92