Freedom Challenge #1: What Does Freedom Mean to You? (SBD Payout to Winner)

Hey friends! I am opening up a new contest themed around freedom. I have been thinking about this for a little while now.

Since I joined steemit, as well as crypto-land in general, I am enjoying seeing a lot of discussions around liberty and freedom. Some are political and revolutionary while others are personal or spiritual.

Freedom is an important topic to me and more so as I age. My own definition of freedom is always evolving and there are many ways to think about it. I thought it would be fun to start a challenge to spur a discussion of freedom so that we can inspire and learn from each other.

So I am thinking if this gets a positive response I'll keep the challenge going regularly, maybe weekly or bimonthly. I will change the prompt with each challenge, while keeping freedom as the overall theme. Any feedback is welcome, especially considering this the first contest I am hosting!

Challenge Prompt

What does freedom mean to you?

Challenge Rules

  • You have one week, until Friday January 19, 2017 at 11:59 PM PST (UTC -8) to enter this contest.
  • Tag your post with #freedomchallenge so that we can see all the entries in one place
  • Include a link to this post in your contest entry

Winner

I will select and announce one winner for this challenge after the deadline has passed.

Reward

The winner of the contest will receive the full SBD payout this post receives!

Please consider resteeming and upvoting this post so that we can generate more payout for the winner!

With that said I look forward to read/hear/see your thoughts on freedom!

IMG_20160429_115201.jpg

Sort:  

I'm sure we are going to come up with some great and diverse views. Great idea to bring it all together with a contest. Looking forward to seeing what everyone thinks.
I have actually been writing a piece about how we practice ecoanarchy/freedom so I'll format it to your question and post it soon.
Up,re&followed

Hi @cardoprimo, I am very much looking forward to your ecoanarchy twist on freedom! Actually it's the first time I heard the word ecoanarchy but I think I fall into that category as well without knowing it :)

I guess I had time right there and then to write! Here it is:

https://steemit.com/freedom/@senorcoconut/what-is-freedom

It took a lot out of me to not go on a really long rant! So I hope the meaning comes through!

Thanks for the opportunity

I really enjoyed reading your entry. Thanks for joining this challenge @senorcoconut!

Thak you @sagescrub and you're welcome! Looks like people are really liking the challenge. Good job!

This is something that had also been running around my head of late. I've been procrastinating about writing something, but not known where to start, so thanks for spurring me on. Here's my tuppence worth on it: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@minismallholding/is-freedom-what-we-think-it-is

Hey @sagescrub ... <3 here's our 1st response .. in the #freedomchallenge. <3

This is awesome! Beautiful words you shared @minismallholding and thanks for joining the #freedomchallenge!

Yey, finally! I am done posting MY ENTRY to this challenge. I really enjoyed making it. To freedom! ^^,

Woohoo! Thank you @yadah04! Thanks for entering #freedomchallenge!

Awesome dude... Ah, so many contests I want to enter this week. I might have to cencle a couple things to make time for this one for sure @sagescrub.

Wow I hope you do write about freedom, I would love to hear your thoughts on the subject @senorcoconut!

Ok... So I finally got some time and your contest is next on my list!

Re-steemed, some of my few followers woild be happy to share their ideas of Freedom!

Thanks for the support and contribution!!

You're welcome!

Awesome idea. It will be interesting to hear different interpretations of freedom....resteemed to share and I will be entering for sure!!

I totally agree! Thank you for the resteem :) I am looking forward to your post & entry @karenfoster :)

Nice idea for a contest. Let me cogitate on this topic for a while, then I'll do a post.

Cogitate is one of my favorite words :) I'm looking forward to seeing your entry @cecicastor!

also, i want to agree with her ^^ very nic!

exciting @sagescrub... we'll participate for sure!! it's a great question and worth ruminating on to create a well formed opinion. it also gets more important to me as i age, create things on the earth (that people want to tax, etc), and continue to "be bigger than myself" in the world.. it's easy to play it small, but we gotta start thinking beyond ourselves!! resteemed.

yay! thanks for the resteem :) That's a good point, about thinking beyond ourselves. It can be difficult but admirable, generous and worthy to think beyond our own selves. I look forward to see your entry!

Ohh I might join this one - sounds like a prompt that will inspire a wide variety of answers!

Yeah! I am excited to see what comes out of this. I have to say thank you @kiaraantonoviche because I have learned a lot about hosting contests from your #homesteadingchallenge! I must say your challenges are very well thought out, organised and well presented :)

Wow thanks! That means a lot to me :)

You're welcome and thank you!!

Oh.. this is a good one. SO many avenues and ideas can be used.
Definitely going to think on this one...

I was thinking the same thing about so many possibilities ... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62